We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Everyday - Thank Goodness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth

Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth
Saint Saviours, Dartmouth TQ6 9DH, England
+44 1803 832224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 80 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: $95 - $95
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The perfect setting for curry lovers to indulge themselves every way they want in a funky fusion of design innovation and exotic eastern cuisine. It prides itself on never wavering when it comes to the quality of products. Its ethos consists of using only the finest produce available and if possible locally produced ingredients - incorporating the delicate flavor of Asian spices to create a new, refreshing approach to Indian Cuisine with service at its cutting edge
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Everyday - Thank Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was quite taken aback by the vehemence of some of the negative feedback for this superb restaurant; I tried to read between the lines and think that people seem to miss the point about Spice Bazaar. So; if you are expecting sticky carpets and bombay mix this is not for you; if you want to gaze at the fish tank when waiting for a seat ..,. dont go there; if you want over-cooked and over-spiced high street nosh ... this may not be for you but, if you would like something very very special from an "Indian" restaurant then you might just want to try this for yourself. My wife and I ate there on Thursday 18th October on a 2 day visit to Dartmouth. We were welcomed with deference ... as valued customers and shown to a table that was close enough to watch the chef[s] at work in the kitchen. I emphasise this because you can see the "real" ingredients ... and nothing that I saw came from a freezer. The Poppadum starters don't include Lime Pickle but ask for it and it will appear. There is no need to describe the food other than to say, from start to finish, we both thought it sublime and would eat there as often as our budget would allow.
The team who run it are not smiling, gawking clowns but will, if you care to try, engage with you at any level from friendly to reticent ... they leave it up to you to make the first move so, if you don't engage with them they will just serve you, politely and properly using their own culture to lead them [Not Ours].
To the team I say ... Guys, don't take the criticism to heart ... some people just don't, and will not, understand your ethos but we did, do and will continue to do so. The bst Eastern Restaurant I have enjoyed on three continents. Well done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold Curry and Findus battered prawns”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

DREADFUL, DREADFUL, DREADFUL 12/10/2012, starter prawns were deep fried in a batter that should have belonged on a cod fillet, The prawns were obviously frozen for a long time, wet and tasteless, it is as if the chef had opened a packet of Findus frozen foods and deep fried them, dripping in oil, vile. I took them back to the manager.
The vegetable curry was even worse, 90 per cent rice, soggy cauliflower, tinned carrots, and a few peas and to add insult to injury it was tepid. Maybe chef had not properly microwaved it from frozen. Eat here at you peril, total waste of money.
In this day and age you cannot get away with this standard of food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicebazzar, Owner at Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Mr Bernard A
im sorry to hear that you have had a such a bad meal at the restaurant , and that we could not resolve the situation im the owner and the chef when you were dining we did try hard to ammend and solve you problems but sadly as i recall you did not wish that , i can tell you we do not use any findus frozen food and if i ever do or intend to it would be pattaks much more anglo indian and also our vegetables does not contain any peas we do not add rice to the vegetable curry and restassured the carrots are not from a tin , we have had reviews but this is very spitful and very poor in its contants . we as a restaurant try and serve many clientals with many different wishes and taste and accomadate there needs and if the meal is not upto our standred we will not charge . again im sorry that yyour vist to the spice bazzar was a disapointment .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A cut above your standard Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I am surprised by the average/negative reviews as this restaurant is of a very high standard - far more refined than than the majority of Indian restaurants. Service was great and the food was excellent - and I would say that the prices were perfectly fair. The only thing I would say is that they could do with making the restaurant feel slightly more intimate - it does feel a bit like you're dining in a village hall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicebazzar, Manager at Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear sir
we thank you for your kind comments and hope that we can be of service if and when you wnat to use the spice bazzar again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Something's not quite right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had heard very good things of this restaurant, so were eager and excited to try it. We arrived just before it opened at 6 in the evening (we were very hungry and tired!), but were welcomed in and given a table. The waiter seemed a bit gruff but we eventually got chatting to him and he became more friendly.

The food was OK but it wasn't nearly as nice as we'd expected. To us, it was lacking in texture and was rather bland so would have benefitted from being spiced up. However, it was good to see some South Indian dishes on the menu, such as the Ragada Pattie - a potato cake served with spicy chick peas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicebazzar, Manager at Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear sir
we thank you for your comments and hope that we can be of service if and when you wnat to use the spice bazzar again , we at the spice bazzar are not the usual run heavy spice restaurant most of our cooking style is light spiced were you taste the food not the spice we tend not to be a balti style restaurant were everthing taste the smae and with heavy spice but light spice but we take on board your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If only the staff would smile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Been going to this returant for some years now but tis time something has changed. The food was bland but the real problem was the staff and in particular one who I think was head man. No warm welcome ,ordering took ages and in the entire visit not a smile could be found. Ok we don't go out for smiley staff but it was such hard work and the food was not as vibrant as it used to be. Think someone else has taken over they need to get their act together!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth also viewed

 

Been to Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Bazaar - Dartmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.