We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK If you like Agatha Christie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenway

Greenway
Greenway Road | Galmpton, Dartmouth TQ5 0ES, England
01803 842382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Dartmouth
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take this extraordinary glimpse into the beloved holiday home of the famous and much-loved author Agatha Christie and her family.The relaxed and atmospheric house is set in the 1950s, and contains many of the family's collections, including archaeology, Tunbridgeware, silver, botanical china and books. Outside you can explore the large and romantic woodland garden, with a restored vinery, wild edges and rare plantings, which drifts down the hillside towards the sparkling Dart estuary.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK If you like Agatha Christie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not my cup of tea but in a party of friends who like NT properties. I accept their word that it is great as houses go and good for Christie buffs

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review; I'm sorry to see that it wasn't your cup of tea, but glad that your friends enjoyed themselves. Have you visited nearby Coleton Fishacre - that may be more your cup of tea, it's very different to Greenway?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    152
    49
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Agatha Christies holiday home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Agatha Christie used this property as a holiday home, lucky lady. You can see her novels displayed in the house along with numerous collections of every type. The wooded garden slopes down to the Dart Estuary which have some steep slopes so good footwear is essential. When you are down there you can visit the boathouse and the battery and admire the views.
There is a walled garden with a peach house, but do close the door if you visit as the squirrels like to enter and eat the fruit if they get chance. There are vegetable plots, unusual plants and a tennis court to see also.


Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello, thank you for this great review; it's lovely to see that you had such a thorough explore of Greenway. I hope that you can come and visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Interesting house,the home of Agatha Christie,we visited on a Saturday in June and it was very busy.
I am not very mobile but the National Trust provided a car to take me from the car park to the house even though the 'official' vehicle was not in service.
If you are in the area the house and gardens are worth a visit and you can arrive by car, book the car park in advance, by train or by boat.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello, thank you for this lovely review. I'm so glad to see that you found the house interesting, and that you utalised the shuttle service from the car park. I hope that you can come and visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like being in another world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have visited Greenway 3 times in total. Latest visit just as good as the others. Travelled from Dartmouth by ferry, lovely in the sunshine, took the steep walk up to the house. Also walked down to the boat house, scene of the crime in Dead Mans Folly! All the staff are very informative and walking round the house is just like visiting friends. You truly feel like you have been transported to another world! Can't wait to go back! Incidentally, the guides were surprised that my 18 year old daughter was just as impressed and is a huge Agatha fan.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello, thanks for this super review; it's lovely to see that you have enjoyed all of your visits to Greenway. I'm glad that the staff and volunteers were so welcoming - I will pass your comments on to the team. I'm sure we'll see you again soon at Greenway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Agatha Christies home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

There are various ways of reaching this attraction but my wife and I chose the steam train from Paignton. There is a 20 minute walk from Greenway Halt to the house. It is fascinating to walk through the rooms which were once occupied by the Queen of Crime; the lounge, bedroom, library, dining room, study, etc. Surprisingly, nothing is roped off and you can even sit on the furniture. Her portable typewriter is there and her notebooks. One feels that she has just popped out and you are a privileged visitor. She did, in fact, keep a visitors book from the 50s to the 70s which even records the visits of her daughter and grandson. The attendants are helpful and knowledgeable. We didn't have time, unfortunately, to go around the gardens.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTEnglishRiviera, Marketing and Communications Officer at Greenway, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review, I'm glad that you and your wife enjoyed your visit to Greenway. I hope that you can come back soon and explore the gardens, they are well worth a visit too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway also viewed

 

Been to Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.