We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant B & B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townstal Farmhouse Hotel

Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Townstal Farmhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A pleasant B & B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The owners were very helpful and friendly and so were the other staff. The location was good, and the walk into dartmouth will keep you fit and isn't that bad for a healthy person or after a few drinks.
Our room was ok, there had been a bit of problems with the plumbing which left a smell but was bearable. The bed was super soft and wasn't our taste.
Breakfast was ok and there was a good choose on the menu.
All in all its was a nice stay but was let down by the bed and smell of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
42
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spotlessly clean,Nigel & Jean make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is lovely & there is more toast coffee if you want more. The hill is a bit steep, we stayed for two nights & enjoyed a wonderful bank holiday week-end. If we return to Dartmouth we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute booking as everywhere was fully booked over Easter. We only needed to stay one night and it was fine.

We had a pleasant greeting from a friendly girl who showed us to our motel like room.

It was clean and the beds were comfy. The room just lacked any character in a beautiful old farm house.

The breakfast was ok - all freshly made.

The price of our room was £95 and it was a lot of money for the overall experience.

Dogs are welcome here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed at a number of places in Dartmouth, this is the best. Friendly, good value for money and wonderful breakfast. Bring your walking shoes because that hill is a killer! But the view is terrific.

Room Tip: Stayed many times in lots of different rooms never had a bad one yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

fantastic hotel, lovely beamed property and traditional surroundings. Hotel was immacutely clean and the room and bathroom spacious with all the creature comforts of home. the bed was amazingly comfortable.

fantastic breakfast in the morning and lovely owners to great you.

would definately recommend to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is located near a main road, and especially with kids and at night, it is too long7steep to walk into the village. At our arrival mid afternoon, the owner was not there yet, so we had to wait.

The farmhouse is nice with convenient parking, however the rooms are rather motel like. They are spacious and clean, but nothing special.

Breakfast was fine, a full English breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay and found the establishment ideal as a B&B for a reunion weekend at Dartmouth College. Our Annex room was ideal for proximity to car park and away from the main road but it did smell a bit damp. However the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We were made very welcome and appreciated the ability to ask for sandwiches and Irish coffee mid-evening rather than have to make the treck down into town after a heavy weekend. Breakfast was freshly cooked and friendly served. I would not recommend Townstal Farm as a holiday venue but rather a good short stay location if you just want a comfortable place to stay overnight while away all day.

Room Tip: The Annex is quieter but you have a cap park walk to breakfast which would be a bore in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townstal Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townstal Farmhouse Hotel

Address: Townstal Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Townstal Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townstal Farmhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.