We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townstal Farmhouse Hotel

Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Townstal Farmhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dartmouth
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is located near a main road, and especially with kids and at night, it is too long7steep to walk into the village. At our arrival mid afternoon, the owner was not there yet, so we had to wait.

The farmhouse is nice with convenient parking, however the rooms are rather motel like. They are spacious and clean, but nothing special.

Breakfast was fine, a full English breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay and found the establishment ideal as a B&B for a reunion weekend at Dartmouth College. Our Annex room was ideal for proximity to car park and away from the main road but it did smell a bit damp. However the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We were made very welcome and appreciated the ability to ask for sandwiches and Irish coffee mid-evening rather than have to make the treck down into town after a heavy weekend. Breakfast was freshly cooked and friendly served. I would not recommend Townstal Farm as a holiday venue but rather a good short stay location if you just want a comfortable place to stay overnight while away all day.

Room Tip: The Annex is quieter but you have a cap park walk to breakfast which would be a bore in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Comfortable, homely accommodation in an old farmhouse on the main approach to Dartmouth, fairly traditional in style but well-equipped and clean. Being next to the main road there is some traffic noise, but not in my opinion to the point of being intrusive or disturbing sleep. It's about a 10-15 minute walk into town down a steep hill, but for anyone not wanting to do the climb back up there's a fairly regular bus from the quayside all week except Sunday evenings. There's plenty of parking on the drive, which is useful as parking in Dartmouth is quite limited. The only slightly negative comment I have is that I found the bed too soft, but this is really a personal preference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked two rooms for our party as most other B&B s didn't have family rooms available as we booked late. Rooms were in the annexe and smelled fusty - but were spacious and warmed up quickly when we turned up the radiators. Coffee / toiletries were very cheap sachets which was frustrating given that we spent over £200 between us for the night.
Breakfast was disappointing - particularly the service which was very surly. We arrived in 2 groups of 3 as the kids wanted to shower before breakfast and we wanted to sit and have a coffee with our young son ( who had obviously been awake for hours) whilst we waited for them. This seemed to be a real problem for the staff who snarled that we couldn't sit together as a 6 (not a problem but they did know that we booked in as a party of 6 so could have planned ahead for this when laying the breakfast tables) and continued with downright unfriendly service throughout breakfast. Cooked breakfast was very cheap sausages and undercooked eggs - I like my yolks runny but not the whites!
It's frustrating when we read other reviews referring to friendly service as this ultimately negates any small niggles on rooms but as it was we paid a fair chunk of cash for mediocre rooms and poor service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very spacious comfortable room, the friendly owners were very accommodating in adding a 4th bed as we were a family of 5. Great location, just a 10-15 minute walk down into town. We did have to bus back up, far to steep for grandma to manage. Just one small negative, the hotel web site describes the breakfast as 'a la carte'. It was quite satisfactory but there were no help yourself juices, cereals, prunes ,grapefruit or fresh fruit, the juice served was concentrated not fresh, the jams and marmalade were the little plastic ones, not home made, there was no fried bread, beans or black pudding and the china teapot had a chunk missing from the lid. I think the owners should consider removing the 'a la carte' wording as it gives false expectation. Overall a very pleasant stay and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed for longer - we shall certainly return. Very warm welcome, clean room with comfortable bed and fantastic breakfast served by friendly staff. Would highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

last minute booking, met by lovely owner apologies for not remembering names. Townstal Farmhouse was a great find in our travels. The room was spacious, very clean and the bed very very comfy. Great location for the walk DOWN to Dartmouth, didn't get the bus back UP the hill unfortunately, quite a steep hill but still a lovely walk up through the lovely houses. Breakfast was a real pure hearty full English Breakfast. Great way to start the day. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townstal Farmhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townstal Farmhouse Hotel

Address: Townstal Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Townstal Farmhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel Dartmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townstal Farmhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.