We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky way to summon the ferry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenway Ferry Dartmouth

Greenway Ferry Dartmouth
Town Pontoon | The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
01803 882 811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 36 things to do in Dartmouth
Attraction details
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A quirky way to summon the ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The ferry is called by ringing the large bell on the quay-side wall in Dittisham. The boat comes from the eastern landing to collect passengers from Dittisham. It can only accommodate about 10 people. The young man who piloted the ferry was very pleasant and jovial. The whole experience was appropriate to the quaint and beautiful surroundings.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    18
    4
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ferry to Greenway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

At £7.50 return, excellent value and friendly, caring crew. Convenient, frequent service with last boat at 5.45pm giving us plenty of time to use our timed ticket at Greenway.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Really helpful and friendly staff and crew.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having checked in to our hotel I 'phoned the Greenway Ferry office to enquire about visiting Greenway.My wife had set her sites on visiting Agatha Christie's famous home so I wanted to get it right! A most helpful guy gave me detailed information and we were soon on our way.
Dogs are welcome on board and when I mislaid my ticket prior to boarding for the return journey the crew member said 'don't worry, I remember the dog!' NB I later found the tcket - honest, I did!!!
From The Oxford Doglover

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Terrible organisation...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

No assistance met at Dartmouth quay advising where to stand etc ..Went to Greenways ticket booth was closed so spoke to opposition company who were very helpful. Only to wait for the delayed ferry for Totnes to find an extremely small boat with limited capacity of about 30 pax meant them leaving behind 12 pax including us. One customer asked, 'When's the next one ?' The unhelpful reply was tomorrow! ..Poor fella had pre purchased his tickets too! The elderly gentleman was simply advised to go get a refund ..I believe he and the others went with Dart cruises instead without getting their money back from Greenways..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good conmmentary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A good, gentle trip up the River Dart to Totnes. The commentary on aspects of the river was good, pointing out areas of interest

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway Ferry Dartmouth also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Devon
 

Been to Greenway Ferry Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenway Ferry Dartmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.