We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dart Marina Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dart Marina Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sandquay Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9PH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dartmouth
Essex england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a late booking.We had a room with a balcony and sat most mornings and evenings on the balcony watching the world go by on the river. The steam engine going up and down on the otherside of the river was a bonus. The staff were helpful and polite. The room was clean although the shower pressure was a bit low. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    198
    62
    22
    15
See reviews for
104
511
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Wine prices ludicrous. Attitude was shocking. Don't have half the menu available and won't do the simplest of things eg one scone with butter. Ran into friends, who'd also seen price hikes and decided only on a jug of water, as we did. DM spent money on re-build, yet don't use restaurant for lunch, can't do this, can't go that and don't get basic principles of restaurant/hotel management. They should sell this business in this glorious town to someone with half a brain and a great attitude who would maximise its potential and provide visitors and locals with a buzzing, fabulous, brilliant venue. We won't be back, we won't recommend to visitors and we'll hope you get your head out of the clouds of arrogance and get this place sorted!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Devon England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at the hotel from Sunday until Tuesday. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed warmly.
The breakfasts were great and we stayed for dinner on the Monday evening and were very impressed with the food and service.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought the staff in the restaurant especially the young female restaurant supervisor were very well trained and attentive.
Our bedroom was most comfortable and overlooked the water and the newly refurbished en-suite was exceptional.
We look forward to returning with friends.

Room Tip: Speak to reception and tell them what you would like as all the rooms are different
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here over the Jubilee weekend, arrived early and our room was ready so we were allowed to check in which was a bonus. Large room over looking the marina with a comfortable bed and good amenities, fridge stocked with water and fresh milk for tea making tray.
Can not comment on the restaurant as we did not eat here instead choosing to go out.
Sunday breakfast what a disaster! all the staff looked miserable and no one had a smile, showed to our table and than left.
What seemed like an age I asked for some coffee, eventually some one came to take our order, still no coffee so I asked again. Coffee turned up, but 25 minutes later the hot breakfast turned up which was very nice and worth waiting for. The hour of ten struck and all the staff seemed to disappeared leaving tables uncleared and the remaining quest to fend for themselves.
Not the sort of service I expect from this type of hotel.
Mondays breakfast completely different, service with a smile, prompt professional service from start to finish, so all I can think is they all had an off day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel for over 25 years,back even to the days it was a Trust House Forte franchise.
In recent years it has ben excellent,but something is going wrong.
Twice now we have noticed a marked difference in the standard of cusine,especially when the Exec.chef is off duty.Example.the Sunday we arrived the fish course (plaice) was overcooked thee new potatoes with nothing to accompany (ie dry) and undercooked stem broccoli.We complained but were met with indifference,2nd night excellent,remaining 2 nights average (lamb tough and chewy).
Opinion:
Much has been spent on refurbishment but standards have reduced as a consequence..
As a devonian I was stunned by cream tea.Must have used tea spoon or similar for portion of cream...i know profit margins are tight but .....fine dining ,it is not.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the staff and found our own way to the room. The room had not been set up as a twin so after ringing reception, they were very accommodating and gave us a twin room upgrade at no cost. I had read the reviews beforehand, but found the staff very welcoming and provided us with an excellent service during our stay. I could have done without the walk outside to the spa but the spa staff said to use a side door of the apartment block that took me into the hotel which I took on return. The only negative which was beyond the control of the hotel was the average age of the clientele - 75+! I'm not ageist being in my early 50s, but during my stay I found that they constantly moaned and complained and hogged every doorway/entrance or chair that were available! As a result we decided not to use the dining room, breakfasted in our room second day and dined out in the town where the atmosphere was less oppressive. We managed to book on a "late availability" rate and felt that the price reflected the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an air-conditioned room during the hot weather - not all rooms have this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

After the ugly expanse of touristy Torbay, Dartmouth is such a tranquil and historic delight and this hotel a perfect modern location. We had a marvel loupe room with a sitting room and bedroom overlooking the river, large comfy bed and plenty of space. Super breakfast either in the room or the restaurant and friendly local staff. Ample parking and easy access although the corridors are narrow.
We ate one night in the restaurant and once they realized we did not want to be rushed the service was fine and well supervised by the manager. All the food was very good especially the fish, we were sorry to see a fellow diner complain unnecessarily loudly as we found everything satisfactory. Excellent wine list, especially rare Cloudy Bay Te Kokoro and Pelorus and good Guigal. The only issue with the restaurant is its rather stark cAnteen like layout that does not lend to intimacy.

The spa was also very nice, experienced staff providing a relaxing massage with Elemis products.
If we are in the area again we will certainly stay here, although we will also try and dine at the Seahorse.

Room Tip: Room 37, just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dart Marina Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dart Marina Hotel and Spa

Address: Sandquay Road, Dartmouth TQ6 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dart Marina Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply breath-taking by the River Dart. Early morning walks, slow afternoons taking tea on the terrace, evenings watching the lights dance on the river. Not forgetting food glorious food. The River Restaurant certainly lives up to its name with wide River views from every table. Dart Marina is a place where it’s easy to hide away in a peaceful corner, spend an hour in the Spa, or just while away the time gazing at the amazing views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dart Marina Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dart Marina Hotel Dartmouth
Dart Marina Dartmouth
Dart Marina Hotel And Spa Dartmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dart Marina Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.