We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tsang's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tsang's Restaurant
23 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AB, England
01803 832025
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 83 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Bother!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We walked in to this restaurant with just two customers already there but were shown to a dirty table although all the others were clean, the lady brushed the bits off with a tea towel and that was it!

The prices are a joke! For example:

Chicken Chow Mein £10.90
Pancake Roll £4.50
Whole Crispy Duck £39.00

The food was total rubbish, to start we shared a quarter crispy aromatic duck which was VERY greasy, cold and accompanied by just five cold pancakes on a saucer, followed by chilli and garlic fried rice and special curry.

They got the rice wrong although NO ONE else was in the restaurant ordering, no chilli OR garlic. We sent that back and it came back with chilli but still NO GARLIC! It was cooked to death and had been stir fried so much it was the consistency of cous cous!

The 'special curry' was cubed tinned ham, pineapple and noodles (?), three shrimps and not much else, a gluey mess!

All in all, if you go in here you want your head tested!

Ridiculous prices and rubbish food combined with 'Fawly Towers' service.

With the greatest respect the other reviewers, it could be alleged are stupid!

What a waste of money!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with the best chinese chicken curry i've ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We visited Dartmouth for the first week of our Easter break and decided on a chinese for one of our meals out. The kids (7yr old and 3yr old) were made very welcome and really enjoyed their food.

Portion sizes are large which is reflected in the price, but the food is cooked fresh and not over seasoned with salt.

Will be visiting next time we're in Dartmouth!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Great takeaways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Every trip to Dartmouth we always have one night in not eating out and always have a takeway from here. The service is always really fast, you call and can collect your food normally within 10mins. They don't do delivery but as we are just round the corner that is not a problem.

Service is always really friendly and the food quality consistently good. We have eaten in a few times as well.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“where else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

arriving fairly late in dartmouth we just wanted a takeaway and it seems that Tsangs is Dartmouths only Chinese place. The elderly lady who took our order was brusque and abrupt but in an amusing way and a a bit of a laugh. We ordered egg fried rice which was fine, chicken and pineapple which was bland and insipid, sweet and sour chicken balls which were nice but spoilt by a poor sauce, chicken curry which was ok, chios, and a pancake roll which was really good.
On the whole very average chinese food but for the price we expected something a bit better

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I always go in Tsangs when in Dartmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have been going in Tsang's for years and the food never dissapoints me and Irene is still there having a laugh and joke with the customers. I think that says it all. You will be missing out if you dont go in here....

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsang's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tsang's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsang's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.