We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A word of warning!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Floating Bridge Inn

The Floating Bridge Inn
Coombe Road, Dartmouth, England
01803 832354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 80 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set alongside the beautiful river dart in the estuary at Dartmouth, The Floating Bridge is the latest addition to the Quality Inns portfolio. When on your Devon holiday, be sure to visit this quaint old fashioned pub. Enjoy the warm atmosphere in the bar or restaurant, or why not sit by the river and watch the boats in the Marina or the Higher Ferry transporting the cars to Kingswear. Relax with a glass of wine or Pimm's, why not try the fresh crab salad!
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A word of warning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A word of warning, if you are having lunch here, skip breakfast; if you are having dinner, skip lunch. Not only is there a very good welcome and excellent service, the portions here are very large and very well cooked.

A good place for the trenchers - we had an excellent dinner. Thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    80
    30
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“just as good the second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We previously reviewed the food and service at the FB in November 2012 and were impressed enough to place a highly positive review on trip adviser. At the beginning of March 2013 we visited Dartmouth again and ate at the Floating Bridge, wondering whether the food on this visit could match the quality experienced on our last visit. My husband had the fish soup as a main course with apple crumble to follow whilst I had the home made steak and kidney pie followed by apple crumble. As before, the food was fantastic, beautifully cooked and presented and just as good as last time. My husband considers himself to be a coinoisseur of fish soup and he said that this was the best fish soup he had ever tasted. I could say the same for the steak and kidney pie and the apple crumble. I would highly recommend the FB for genuinely great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting this pub for many years and the current owners have created a friendly atmosphere.
Food is great with very large portions.
Can recommend fish n chips which comes in three sizes to suit all appetites.
Bar staff very friendly, especially Yanis?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had lunch here on Wednesday and really enjoyed our meal. Interesting menu which included a very tasty tapas starter. Great view of the river from our table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside put you off ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in Dart Marina for a few days and walked past this pub several times. On the last day we decided to give it a try and regretted not going in sooner.
The staff were really friendly, with a few locals making the atmosphere welcoming and relaxing.
The food was fabulous, I had the special fish pie which was really good, excellent quality, full of fresh local ingredients.
Really good food, excellent value in a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Floating Bridge Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Floating Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Floating Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.