We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite pub in Dartmouth (and Devon)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherub Inn and Restaurant

Cherub Inn and Restaurant
Higher Street, Dartmouth TQ6 9RB, England
01803 832571
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 81 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chepstow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favourite pub in Dartmouth (and Devon)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were in The Cherub earlier this week; what a great pub with outstanding ales on tap. Always a good welcome here and the warm fire makes it especially so. My wife isn't keen on pubs generally but she loves this one. The ambience is just right. The owners have created a haven for punters who don't like one-armed bandits, thump-thump music and obtrusive wide screen televisions. The food is super - we have eaten here more than a few times but please, pretty please, get rid of the skinny fries and serve up proper chips. Long may you reign.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    65
    25
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just our type of pub , dogs, great beer , a get on with it style, not pretentious , very good food , great landlady !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Food and beers great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome, great choice of food, especially the specials "catch of the day". Great charm, claims to be the oldest building in Dartmouth, but only a pub since late 1960's. Today we opted for the 2 steaks + careff of house wine for £25, great value nice food, however a salad or veg to accompany would have been icing on the cake. Will def return and recommend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Unreliable Menu May Spoil Your Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Cherub is the oldest building in Dartmouth and apparently dates from the late 14th century although externally it looks every inch a genuine Tudor dwelling. It is located above the Lower Street that leads to the River and close by the Town's oldest Inn and wonderful Church. I had visited this Inn and Restaurant many times over the years but not in recently so I looked forward to this return.

Unfortunately there were a few issues about the management of the place that leave more than a little to be deisired as the phrase goes. The narrow and winding stairs to the small first floor restaurant can be difficult to negotiate and we were a little affronted when having made the effort to climb them in order to leave the rather crowded and uncomfortable tiny ground floor bar to take our seats in the restaurant, we were rather summarily told we could not do so , despite my protest that we were booked in for 6.30 when the restaurant opened by being told it was only 6.25pm!!

Once our party were permitted to take our seats we were rapidly told what was not on the menu . In order to avoid complete disappointment we had to rush to claim what there was left and we had the last steak and kidney pie and West Country steak between us. We listened with mixed emotions as other dîners who followed on behind us were told their choice was even more restricted as a result. Unfortunately this was the theme of the night and it continued on into the sweet menu with being told that preferred options were no longer available. As I had assumed the Inn employed a Chef I did wonder why some additional alternatives could not have been prepared to increase the available choice.

We found the service a little off hand and lacking in attentiveness and as big a disappointment as the issues with the menu. At an average of £20 per head for a two course meal it seemed good value for money as the quality of the meals was good and it would not take a lot to turn this potential 'gem' around but there has to be the will of it's management to bother to do so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming and great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My new wife and I had an evening meal in this absolutely charming pub. We chose the £25 steak meal for 2 which included a carafe of house red wine. The steaks were very nice indeed and the wine delicious. Couldn't fault this charming old pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherub Inn and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cherub Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherub Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.