We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charity House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dartmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charity House
Save
You added Charity House to your Saves list
Collaford Lane | Dartmouth, Dartmouth TQ6 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed at Charity House recently for a girls weekend away! Charity House is the most gorgeous B & B set on a little hill right by the church a few minutes from the harbour. Wonderful surroundings, beautiful bedrooms with everything you need! Soft towels, cosy rooms, lovely crisp linen! Hostess Val is wonderful and her Charity House Breakfast to die for! Fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed over the Christmas period for a much needed break. We absolutely loved Charity House. Nothing was too much trouble for Val and Martin: we felt as though we were members of their family. We had a beautiful room, complete with gorgeous shortbread. The room was filled with tasteful and interesting antiques and artifacts: it felt as though you were staying in a very comfortable and very luxurious museum. I couldn't stop looking at all the amazing antiques and curios.The bathroom was really usefully stocked with toiletries - I'd forgotten a whole host of things and found everything I could have required (and more) provided. Our bed was beautifully made up with fine quality sheets and a gorgeous vintage quilt. We had a brand new T.V. (not that we needed to watch it.) The view was just amazing ... right out over the town of Dartmouth and the adjacent church. It was like staying in a film or novel set. We were fed to a standard that I'd expect from a five star hotel: delicious food from someone who is quite clearly a very talented and experienced cook. The most important thing of all was the ambience of the place: we could not have felt more welcomed or happy. Val and Martin were a delight to talk to and we would not hesitate to return to get to know them better. Thank you so much, both of you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our second visit to Val & Martins beautiful Charity House and it was every bit as perfect as our first visit. Warm, clean comfortable rooms, located right in the heart of town. Val & Martin are the perfect hosts, there to help and look after you but giving you all the space you need. The breakfasts are worth the trip alone, lots of food with everlasting juice and coffee!
Would recommend without hesitation, we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights with val and martin for the candle lit wkend.
it was our 2nd visit and once again we loved it.
wish charity house was our secret but that would not be fair.
cant wait to go back

Room Tip: any room is a joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Best B&B we've ever stayed at. Great breakfast, quirky rooms, central location and brilliant value for money. Only issue is the lack of parking.

We stayed in the pink and blue room- ask for the pink room it's the best. Love the vintage furniture.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. Right in the heart of the town and 'different'!! We could have spent several days just looking at the all the knick-knacks, old books and magazines etc. Being of a certain age many of them took us right back to our childhood. The room (almost a suite with sofas etc) was extremely comfortable, and the bath was very much appreciated for a long soak having been walking for a week.

The meusli-yoghurty-fruity thing at breakfast was particularly delicious, and the rest of breakfast was pretty good too !!!!

If you want/need to stay in Dartmouth and you want something that's individual, quirky, but comfortable, clean and welcoming this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed with Val & Martin for 2 nights, we were made to feel so welcome, the rooms were delightful, breakfast to die for and just such a wonderful B & B. We have stayed in Dartmouth every year for the last 40 years minus a couple and this beats everywhere where we have stayed. Thanks Val & Martin - as Arnie says "We will be back" xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charity House

Address: Collaford Lane | Dartmouth, Dartmouth TQ6 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Charity House Hotel Dartmouth
Charity House Dartmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charity House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.