We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anzac Street Bistro

Anzac Street Bistro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anzac Street Bistro to your Saves list
Anzac Street Bistro
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Aznac Street, Dartmouth TQ6 9DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 55 Dartmouth B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B above the Bistro, good size room, great to have a small fridge in the walk-in wardrobe, with fresh milk in it and ground coffee. Good quality breakfast, extra toast and coffee offered and accepted.
Only reason for not giving it full marks was my egg being overlooked on the first morning and that may not have been their fault, but because the people I was staying with went down to breakfast early and started before I came down, the swines.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The last time we visited the Anzac it was run by a London couple, but it appears to have changed hands. The food , now, has a Polish twist and there are some value for money dishes on the menu on the evening menu.
My wife had the Fasolka and I had the Plaice. The food was good and satisfying and the drink prices reasonable. Four 175ml glasses of wine, two mains and two desrets £54
The restaurant is small and cosy and the staff are friendly and helpful. WVA.

Reservations: 01803 835 515

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed at the Anzac and would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.
The rooms are very comfortable and large. We looked at other rooms in the property and they looked the same. The Anzac was tidy and very clean and above all we had a comfortable nights sleep in a good bed. The hosts made us more than welcome and friendly. We unfortunately were not able to sample the bistro but on looking at the menu boards wished our stay coincided with the opening times. What added some pleasure to the experience was the 'French' ambiance of the establishment . When each day we left on our travels around the area we went through the bistro to go outside and the it has a lovely atmosphere - the building is very old and it has a warm feel to the place. The breakfast is more than ample and quality produce. The location is excellent for Dartmouth and we would recommend if you are thinking to going to stay in the town you get a b&b or hotel that has a room that allows the guests to park free in the main car park and others in the area. Remember to ask if your room tariff covers this cost-well worth it.
Dartmouth itself was great, nice pubs and places to eat - all in all a great place to stay when visiting all the local beaches and attractions. We read the reviews on Trip Adviser on this b&b before going and they were right in praising Simon and Aga for there business. We'll be going
back in the future - what better recommendation could you have than that !

Room Tip: The rooms all looked spacious , our room looked out on the front street and it was nice and quiet. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is first time I have ever taken the time to write a review on trip advisor. Usually have good intentions but this time I feel I must. We stayed two nights here before going on to Scilly. What a find. Simon and Alga run a delightful establishment here. They have got everything just right! If you are vegetarian you must try here. The Polish chef cooked especially for me a wonderful risotto which I can honestly say was best meal that I have had in years. Simon and Alga are what create such a wonderful atmosphere in this relaxed but stylish bistro. I wish it could be picked up and moved to norwich! To top it all the rooms above are a delight to stay in. If you are thinking about staying I highly recommend. You won't find fault. I wish these guys all the success they deserve

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in August for 4 nights for the Royal Regatta & thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Simon & Aga offer great genuine hospitality & nothing is too much trouble. Our bedroom was like home from home & very comfortable with all home comforts, excellent. Breakfasts were excellent too & we dined twice in their lovely bistro. Great food & atmosphere. Cannot recommend Anzac Bistro enough, a truly great find & we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in August and the sleeping occomodation was excellent, the sofa bed in our room being used by our adult daughter for two of the nights at minimal extra cost. Amazingly little noise from the bistro below. We dined at the bistro twice and were absolutely delighted with the friendly and efficient service as well as the fantastic food and drink. We fully intend to return next year and so are hesitant about recommending it too highly in case it is swamped with other bookings!

Room Tip: The room with the sofa bed has no view, but it is still a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thank heavens the fish place we were heading for was full and said they couldn't give us a table for an hour. If they had we might not have found Anzac Street Bistro which would have been a great pity!

A happy party of four were just leaving so we were offered their table. Our dinner was comforting, tasty, well cooked by the lovely teddy of a Polish chef and charmingly served by our Polish hostess.
We were visiting friends recently moved to Dartmouth from London, they hadn't yet found this friendly little bistro.
It's the sort of place you know you will go to often - a true local bistro: reasonable prices, charming and friendly service and good, comforting food. Like a bistro should be. It's rave reviews on Tripadvisor are well deserved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anzac Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anzac Street Bistro

Address: 2 Aznac Street, Dartmouth TQ6 9DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anzac Street Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anzac Street Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anzac Street Bistro Dartmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anzac Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.