We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seahorse Restaurant

The Seahorse Restaurant
5 South Embankment, Dartmouth TQ6 9BH , England
01803 835147
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 80 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Myself and my partner had the pleasure of visiting the seahorse during our holiday.

The ever changing menu and rotating wine seller has great appeal to the inner foodie as you know you're always getting the best of what's available.

Everything we ate was utterly sublime.

My partner had tuna carpaccio, followed be veal. I had scallops followed by fritto misto. Very piece of every dish was cooked exceptionally. There were long minutes of utter bliss and silence. Which is completely unheard of as we're usually very chatty over dinner!

A side of fennel dophinoise was sophisticated and rich and a green tomato salad was fresh and bright.

Dessert. We didn't need it but coffee panacotta and a salted chocolate pudding were just beautiful.

My only criticism of the evening would be that the wine list is rather pricey. Around £20 for a small carafe of wine. But then again my general alcohol consumption is not exactly conservative.

Beyond the food and drink... The atmosphere and ambience where fantastic. The waiting staff were attentive. The evening was perfect. One of the what restaurant experiences I've ever had

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    80
    48
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ate at The seahorse while on holiday in Dartmouth. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived and received a welcome glass of Prosecco, the fantastic anchovy, caper and garlic dip with bread, to the wonderful fish, the excellent desserts and the donuts presented with the coffees at the end of the meal. The waiting staff were attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and even though the restaurant was full, there was no long delays between courses, just enough time to look forward to the next course.
Wish we lived near so we could make this restaurant one of our regulars. Oh well we'll be back next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We went all week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked an apartment for a week in Dartmouth knowing we had an excellent restaurant on our doorstep namely The Seahorse.We enjoyed it so much we had dinner there 5 nights out of the seven!( they were closed 2 nights!)The fish is very plainly served.Glorious Monkfish for two at £50.To die for John Dory at £55 for two.(sides to go with these come at £3.50 a time).the restaurant on all 5 nights was full,with tables being used again for second sittings.The Seahorse is expensive,but it is a long time since we have had fish so simply presented,and perfectly cooked.The "front of House Staff" were charming and very welcoming.They were knowledgeable over all the items on the menu.The room itself reminded us of restaurants we used to visit in New York in the 1970's.Long leather banquettes either side of the restaurant in a sort of 'washed out gold colour',and tables tightly squeezed down the centre of the room,with the kitchen in full view.We thought that approx 90%of the customers ,like ourselves,were actually paying for their evening out themselves,and not charging it to exspenses which is what happens in London!We will return in the winter.The Seahorse made this holiday sublime.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holiday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited Dartmouth on a day trip but had researched restaurants there before leaving home and had decided on 3 to look at then decide. We are glad we chose The Seahorse Restaurant as it exceeded our expectations for both quality of food and service. Small restaurant but very comfortable. Staff extremely pleasant and efficient. One of us had the £20 lunch, the other chose off the main menu - both could not be faulted. Don't be put off by the door not being wedged open as we were told the draught sometimes interferes with the cooking procedures. Little extras such as the "amuse bouche" before the meal and the little doughnuts with coffee justify the slightly higher prices. We would return and recommend - but book if possible as it is very popular, especially with returning customers it seemed. All ages were lunching there including a couple with a very well-behaved 5 month old baby !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent but scallops are dredged”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Meal was excellent but scallops are dredged which is catastrophic for seabed .. Mitch Tonks explained that this was not the case & dredging was good ... He's a chef not a conservationist ..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seahorse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Seahorse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seahorse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.