We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bar meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added New Inn to your Saves list
New Inn
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   High St, Clovelly EX39 5TQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Clovelly B&B and Inns
devon
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Lovely bar meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On a recent trip to Clovelly, we enjoyed a meal here at the pub.
The prices are very reasonable considering the location.
The meals were filling and good sized portions.
Would highly recommend eating here when in the village.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
12
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We loved Clovelly and the Hotel was perfect, had a lovely room with balcony overlooking the High Street. Very peaceful and a great place to relax. The staff where very friendly and helpful and nothing was two much trouble. The food was excellent, especially the breakfasts, kept us going for the day. We stayed on the for 3 nights, just wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved Clovelly and the New Inn staff were perfect, the breakfasts were first class as were the pub meals. Only downside was the lack of television in the Annex which was where we were staying. The room also had no main light only one small table lamp. The staff however were so good that we tended to overlook those two items despite my wife missing one of her programs.

I would stay again but probably would pick the main pub as all those rooms have TV.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the pub itself not the annex if you want to have TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Lovely village, booked in the new inn for two days..." peaceful, nice room and bathroom, bed however, so full of lumps! Great breakfast, not enough to fill in time for More than a day , last food orders at both pubs 8.p m so like sleepy village , need to get out and explore Devon , on. Second. Morning overall peace from city life !....? For a few hours

Room Tip: Only 8rooms, so look at what is not booked !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My parents and I enjoyed our stay in this lovely old inn in Clovelly, this very special little steep car-less village! Our rooms in the annexe opposite the main building were spacious, very clean, minimalist and modern. The hotel had wifi, the breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed three nights at the New Inn while walking the adjacent sections of the South West Coast Path and had a very comfortable stay.

I was in the annexe across the steep street from the hotel. Shared bathroom - not a problem and it had an excellent modern shower with plenty of hot water, I was, however, surprised to find no TV in the room - something I've come to take for granted but will remember to check in advance next time! Anyway, the WiFi worked fine in my room, so all was not lost. The room itself was pretty basic with cheap furnishings - but it was clean and comfortable. Also, it was good value compared to other accommodation I looked at.

Breakfast was excellent - good quality and plenty of choice. The bar food in the evening was also nice and pretty good value.

There are only two places to eat and get an evening drink in Clovelly - The New Inn at the top of the hill and The Red Lion down by the harbour. The Red Lion is nice for a pre-dinner drink while admiring the view, however I found the food OK but expensive. Last orders for food are 8.00 pm at the New Inn and 8.30 at the Red Lion, so early nights tend to be the norm!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

When arriving in Clovelly the New Inn is the first place to eat after the entrance. You have to give your order at the bar. Food is good pub grub, big portions and served to the table quickly. Friendly staff and clean bar, restaurant and toilets.

Room Tip: Dont wear high heals, walking boots only. Beautiful village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: High St, Clovelly EX39 5TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clovelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Clovelly
New Inn Clovelly, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.