We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a Hotel it is a Pub with Bed and Breakfast rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clovelly
bath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This is not a Hotel it is a Pub with Bed and Breakfast rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Lovely setting on the harbour, although we found Clovelly a little bizarre, especially paid access for day trippers through the visitor's centre. Luckily we didn't discover this initially as we arrived late down the back road. On arrival we couldn't find the hotel desk or the receptionist, eventually the bar man showed us the way through the back of the pub bar and checked us in. Room was fine with lovely sea views. Bed was extremely soft.
We decided to go and have a drink in the bar, really bright lighting and no really comfortable seating, but the worse aspect of the evening were three children running through the bars and actually into the public areas of the hotel. They were unsupervised and were not staying. Their parents appeared to be customers in the pub.
We did sleep ok, despite the bed and it was great to hear the sea.
Breakfast was fine and it was nice day relaxing around the harbour. Sadly a Porpoise was washed up dead in the harbour, the kitchen staff came out to look and then one of them spat at his friend for fun, mmmm really looking forward to supper tonight! Too few vegetarian options so we made do with bar food.
Second night slept well again to the sound of the sea, breakfast again alright. Sadly as we were packing up I burnt myself quite badly on the towel rail. Spoke to the receptionist and she explained the the girl cleaning the room should have turned it off. Watch it, it's really really hot.
We were left wondering if it were the management's weekend off? Either way this is a pub describing itself as a hotel and whatever the location the price should reflect that.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    71
    26
    26
    22
See reviews for
37
185
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

excellent stay ,staff were great, menu chioce was excellent .thank you to sally and justin for sorting things out for us

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed here as part of a tour round Devon and Cornwall and also visiting friends. My daughter said she always wanted to stay here so I thought I would give it a try. We had the twin room overlooking the beach and harbour. It had a bay window with table and chairs to sit and watch the boats and activities on the harbour wall. The room was very nicely decorated and the enormous shower was great. We did find a few faults - dust all round the skirting boards and the window area had dust all over the ledges - think the housekeeping needs to be improved on the dusting side. The evening meal was a mixed affair. My husband had a steak which was perfectly cooked but very tough - and he never has a problem chewing tough meat. I had lemon sole with asparagus and saffron potatoes. Unfortunately some of the asparagus was significantly undercooked and the potatoes were so raw they were inedible. However, the breakfast was very nice and very plentiful. If you stay at this hotel you avoid the entrance cost to the village, and get to use the service room right down to the beach carpark. You can then use the landrover for free to go back up to the start of the cobbles and wander down knowing you can put your feet up at the end. Wear sensible shoes if you do. Also worth a visit was Clovelly gardens at the top.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Red Lion benefits from its surroundings. More effort could be made by staff to clear up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales,United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We had a great weekend at this hotel, the staff were friendly and informative, especially the receptionist Lucy, who deserves a pay rise for her excellent customer care. The location of the hotel is perfect but there is a long steep walk back up to the main street, but a shuttle truck does take you to the top so you could walk down. food in the restaurant was good, maybe it could of had more local products, our stay was the same time as Clovelly's regatta which made the area quite busy and the bars lively with live music going on, we enjoyed it but if you were a romatic couple then you might not of enjoyed it as much , but then again it is only one weekend a year.
Please go and try this hotel I do not think you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We booked several months ahead to attend a memorial service nearby. With 8 weeks to go our booking was cancelled to accommodate the owners family and friends for a social event!

The worst case of non-customer friendly self intrested service I have ever come across.

Book at your own peril. The booking means nothing to Clovelly Estates.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susses
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed in mid July with a large group of friends, the staff here bent over backwards to ensure that we had a great time, the food in the restaurant was amazing, and the bar snacks we had at lunchtime were good value and well presented.

Thanks to the bar staff for putting up with us in the bar!!

We have been coming here for 3 years and cant fault this hotel, once againd many thanks to Justin & co!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clovelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, Devon, UK
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.