We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Dyke Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clovelly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Dyke Farmhouse
Save
You added East Dyke Farmhouse to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Higher Clovelly, Clovelly EX39 5RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Clovelly B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on Friday - Saturday (1st - 2nd November).

It's a largish farmhouse in the country with plenty of parking. Inside it's a genuine, cozy and clearly, a much-loved home. We were met by Helen, the most wonderful host / owner who genuinely cannot do enough for you. She showed us to our room (room 2) which was just perfect – I won't repeat other reviews here.

After our five hour drive to get there, then a couple of hours walking down into Clovelly itself, we got back to the farmhouse, opened a bottle of wine, got into the softest and most comfortable bed and stayed there from 6.45 pm until 9.30am!

Breakfast was a delight and there were three courses on offer. Practically anything you could wish for was on the menu. Helen was the perfect host and the food set us up until tea time (no room for lunch!).

I don't normally give a blanket five out of five (because if we go back and it's even better then we can't improve our rating!) but I'll make an exception in this case :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After winning a competition to attend a candlemaking workshop in Clovelly (Rowan Studios), my husband and I needed somewhere to stay so as always I looked on Tripadvisor! I think I found the most perfect B&B in all of England! Our room was so pretty, clean & everything we needed was at hand, I didn't think it could get any better but breakfast next morning was a banquet, absolutely superb!! Plus we got to meet Hector the black laborador, the icing on the cake!! We will be going to stay again you can bet on it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, NSW, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Thank you to Helen, Steve and Hector. We had a lovely stay at the farmhouse, a little piece of Escape to the Country for us. The breakfast was generous and delicious. Helen is a gracious host. We enjoyed meeting other guests from different corners of the world over breakfast. Our bedroom and ensuite was spacious with beautiful linens, very comfy. The location is great for exploring Clovelly, don't miss the Clovelly church and gardens - just beautiful with a walk through the woods to the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have to use only one word in my review of East Dyke Farmhouse.......PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!! However, I must use 200 characters apparently, so I will add faultless, beautiful, friendly, homely, spotless, thoughtful, delightful and thank you as well!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit the beautiful village of Clovelly.

It is a very small drive or a smallish walk from Clovelly.

The B&B is in an old farm, but has been renovated and is very pretty.

The owners were very welcoming and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were absolutely delighted with our stay at East Dyke farmhouse in higher clovelly, lovely clean room and bathroom and the biggest softest bed we've ever seen. The en suit bathroom was immaculate with lovely big clean towels.
Helen was extremely kind and very welcoming, we also had the pleasure of meeting Hector the black lab. The breakfasts were out of this world and enough to keep you going for the whole day !!
If you are planning a trip to clovelly and looking for an affordable B&B I totally recommend this one, it is set in a lovely picturesque location with views over the sea and hills.
We are already planning our next visit !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Are first time in this wonderful B&B. Our room was beautiful, large soft towels and a very comfy bed with quality bed linen. Helen is lovely, and Hector the black Lab is adorable. Our breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day ahead in Clovelly. if going this way you must stay there.

Room Tip: If you need extra space have the double room that sleeps 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Dyke Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Dyke Farmhouse

Address: Higher Clovelly, Clovelly EX39 5RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clovelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — East Dyke Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Dyke is a working farm set in 300 acres just 1 mile from the historic village of Clovelly. We are rated AA 4 star with a prestigious Breakfast Award. Overlooking Bideford Bay we have 3 rooms 1 double en-suite, 1 double/family en-suite & 1 twin with private bathroom. All rooms fully equipped with digital TV, fridges, hairdryers, fresh flowers, magazines, Tea & coffee making facilities etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Dyke Farmhouse Clovelly, Devon, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Dyke Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.