We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pendrin House

Pendrin House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pendrin House
Save
You added Pendrin House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Atlantic Road, Tintagel PL34 0DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Pendrin House for three nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. Surprised we were able to get a room at the last minute as we booked the Monday before. We got lost and ended up getting to the B&B at 11. Although we were late Jo and Dave were very accommodating and kind even at the late hour. Breakfast was terrific each morning and couldn't have asked for better. There are random signs everywhere telling you what to do and what not to do which is a bit odd. Also after a day of swimming in the freezing cold sea I wanted to take a hot bath but they did not have a plug for the bath. We asked Dave and he said they just don't use them. That honestly was the most disappointing thing. Everything was top notch otherwise. 30 pounds a person per night as we got a 5 pound discount for staying 3 nights. Wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The location of this Guesthouse is really good. You have a great view to the Camelot Castle Hotel and next to it is also the coastpath along the shoreline. Just stunning and perfect for a walk in the morning or evening. To the centre of Tintagel with pubs and restaurants it is also barely 10 minutes walking distance.
The guesthouse itself offers various rooms, we had one with a view to the Camelot Castle Hotel - fantastic! The rooms have everything you need, are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is good, Full English breakfast.
One thing that was a bit strange were the various signs in the house and rooms with all the Do's and especially the Don'ts. That gave you the impression as if the biggest fear of the owners is that you could break something or that you could bring in dirt from the road. Apart from that everything was ok and the owners were helpful and gave us advise what we can do and see in Tintagel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed for one night. Wish it couldve been longer. Jo and Dave made us feel so welcome and i hope everything works out for them with whatever they decide to do next. The guest house is immaculate. The breakfast was lovely. Well cooked and plentiful. Tintagel was fairly quiet on Sunday night so we went to the Mill House and Port William about 2 miles down the road. Both were very busy! We nearly stayed at The King Arthurs Arms and with no disrespect to them we were happy to have stayed here. Hope to return on our next trip to Cornwall..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived at Tintagel without having booked anywhere to stay. We drove through and came across Pendrin House.
Jo answered the door and was very friendly and said that there was a room available.
There is parking behind, so no issues there.
The room was lovely, with the most amazing view where we sat and watched the beautiful sunset.
The room was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also large and clean.
Jo and Dave were very friendly and we chatted to them for sometime about the area etc.
For Breakfast i had scrambled eggs and toast and my husband the full English, juices/cereals were available. All in all it was a great breakfast and a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which has a fabulous view of Camelot castle and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We arrived at Pendrin House, wet and cold after a very tough coastal path walk from Port Isaac. Despite the fact we could only stay for one night, we were given a first class welcome and really well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who helped us to get our clothes dry for the next day. Lovely breakfast and room, wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the great hospitality we received! We really appreciated your kindness, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallow, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I highly recommend Pendrin Guest-house for its good food, affordability, cleanliness and hospitality. I would mention, however, that there is a steep stairs in the house and car parking facilities are somewhat limited.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

As GUESTS in Jo and Daves house,my partner and I had a very enjoyable stay. A very warm welcome from Dave haha...who is charming and is a fantastic cook...the breakfast and the choice was amazing...thanks both! The service was excellent and the rooms clean and very comfortable. What more can we ask for........... ! Two hard working people who deserve a well deserved holiday,who have worked since 1983 without one.... I admire you so much..... lots of luck and love in your future together.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pendrin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendrin House

Address: Atlantic Road, Tintagel PL34 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendrin House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pendrin House Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendrin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.