We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Tir Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bossiney Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bossiney Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added Bossiney Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Tintagel PL34 0AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in Tir Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Have just returned from a weekend break, little concerned when arrived as had read some of the reviews, but could not fault the accommodation, we stayed in Tir Cottage, everything was immaculate, the hot tub was on the patio area and not overlooked at all, will certainly recommend and will certainly be returning for another peaceful, relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Bossiney Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Tir Cottage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay, 'lodge' as others have commented was more a caravan style accommodation however this was not an issue as was lovely and warm. This however caused some issue as the only windows in the main bedroom where large ones which we did not feel comfortable leaving open at night as would be very insecure and easily accessible.
Bedroom was nice sized and bed comfortable, plenty of room. Radiator was in the wardrobe? But caused no issues. Could have done with another socket by the bed closest to the window side as there was a lamp and radio alarm clock already plugged in which I had to unplug in order to charge my phone overnight. On suite bathroom with a single shower was lovely and the main one we used. Could have done with another little standing height shelf for bottles etc as if your very short sighted like me keeping bending down and scrabbling for stuff is not ideal! Water pressure was reasonable but we both used it at its max temperature, could have been a bit hotter.
Main bathroom was nice size and laid out, lovely big heated towel rail. Shower over bath was same as in on suite. I tried a bath one night after a long cold day out, I ran the bath entirely from the hot tap, I think the water may just have taken a very very long time to heat up effectively as was much hotter at end of running bath. Toilets both flushed well, no issues!!!!
Main room was comfortable though we turned the tv stand round to face the larger sofa and brought in the bedroom little chair/ foot rest. Nicely decorated with soft cushions. We found some board games in the bedroom cupboard which were a nice touch and we were able to enjoy a game of scrabble. There was also a fishing net which we made use of! Also in same cupboard was an ironing board, lamp, picnic set and a first aid kit (though what the intended use of some contents were could be questioned...).
Kitchen was well equipped even down to egg cups and a sieve, perfect for armature chef man! Only thing he couldn't locate was a pizza cutter, but I'm not sure I have one of those either! Nice to find an ice cube tray in freezer. Dish washer was a nice touch and v helpful, there was a washing machine however there was a notice on it saying it was not working yet and should be by 'early 2014' not sure when that is as we are in February now. Lovely table looking out onto countryside.
Hot tub - lovely to have but we didn't get much use of out it, it was February and blowing a gale with lots of rain though. It was also very overlooked by the road on the site and at least 4 other 'lodges'. This made using it quite uncomfortable although it was quiet I didn't feel entirely happy. A few bamboo/decking style trellises would solve this issue perfectly and allow people to use this to the maximum. Also smelt v strongly of ?chlorine which we saw shovelled in every morning. Would have been nice to know when the man was going to arrive to check the hot tub as we were in the middle of breakfast when this was done and would rather had been done whilst we were out later in the day. The morning we left they were also very keen buzzing around us emptying and cleaning it before we had left the accommodation. We thought at one point we had accidentally turned the hot tub on, however on investigation we couldn't see how and it seems that it sometimes randomly turned itself on/off, further instructions or an obvious completely off we're not intending to use it today switch would have been good.
Our main issue was the building works on site. We had booked as on the hoeseasons website it said these would be finished by 7th February. We were informed of these works when we checked in, I responded that the website had stated they were over by now, no apology offered and I was corrected that it was 23rd February they would be finished. They didn't cause us much issue as we were not near them however had we been in a different lodge we would not have been happy. There were also building works men wandering around and some noise in the mornings. I brought my print out to the check in/out on leaving and pointed out this error, again no apology but thanked and assured that they would mention this to hoeseasons.
Area is lovely and we will return though possibly not to this accommodation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a lovely stay, however the "lodge" (we stayed in number 5) was more of a glorified caravan. It was clean and tidy however it was not a lodge. The rattling of the air ventilation was very irritating and didn't stop! When inside it was cosy however the "lodge" didn't feel very secluded. They are all built on top of each other. With no trees or anything in between.

Kitchen was nice, it had a washing machine but no dishwasher! Living area was comfy and cosy.

The hot tub was good, however on a particularly windy night the whole covering flew off! Our oven also broke, the maintenance man was lovely and came to help us straight away, he needed the electrician so he was called out. We went out for the day and when we came back to the caravan everything appeared to have been fixed however it was only the grill that worked. We went to reception, they rung the electrician on the phone and he said that we would need a new oven, luckily they had one on site so he came out again and replaced it. I just wonder why they waited for us to complain again for something to be done about the oven. It all got sorted in the end though.

Another point I want to make is that for a VIP lodge, you expect in this day and age to have free wi-fi. It was a disappointment that you had to pay for internet here.

All in all it was a lovely stay, really great location. 10 minute walk to Tintagel. 5 minute drive to Boscastle. 20 minute drive to Bude. 50 minute drive to Newquay. Beautiful scenery and great walks all around. Take your camera!!

It was clean, tidy and very comfortable, we had a lovely holiday. But it's a caravan, not a secluded lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed in the lodge and really enjoyed it. We stayed mon-fri. The lodge was clean, well presented and well equiped.
The surrounding areas were beautiful and I reccomend the costal path to tintagel. Port Isaac was also beautiful. Would definitely go again as I don't feel we had enough time to explore the area properly!!!
Then there was the added bonus of starting and ending each day in the hot tub really couldn't beat it! Due to the locality there was an amazing view of the stars :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good location ten minute walk to the town of tintagel or one hour along the fantastic coastal paths. Lovely spacious cottages. Enjoyed a dip in the hot tub morning and night to rest the weary bones after a days walking.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Bossiney bay is only a small park and doesnt have loads of open green spaces for our boys to play footie. The lodge (lodge 10) for a superior vip 4 lodge was a little disappointing and a smaller lodge to others ive stayed in the past. However it did have everything we needed and the hot tub was a definite plus.

Staff are fantastic and when we had a slight problem with the hot tub they worked tirelessly to get it sorted.

Great location for exploring and tintagel is only a 10 minute walk away which has some great shops, oubs and restaurants.

Probably wouldn't return but only because our boys needed more space close by.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just had a few days in bossiney bay it was fantastic, views were stunning our accommodation was immaculate, the staff across the road were helpful. All in all a fantastic holiday will be going back but next time were going in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bossiney Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bossiney Bay Holiday Park

Address: Tintagel PL34 0AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tintagel
Also Known As:
Bossiney Bay Holiday Park Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bossiney Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.