We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view ,but the food is awful !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Port William Inn to your Saves list
Port William Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view ,but the food is awful !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband an I decided to stop for a late lunch as we had been a couple of days before for a drink and thought as it was a beautiful spot ,we would come back and try the food,but we were sorely disappointed!! We knew the full menu wasn't available in the afternoon,but didn't mind. I ordered a pasty and my husband ordered scampi ,both with chips.We were very disappointed when the food came,the pasty had been microwaved and was soggy and we were given frozen chips that weren't even cooked properly.When my husband bit into the scampi he was sprayed with hot liquid ,obviously could have done with being cooked a little longer!! It had been the first pasty I had on our holiday too and was so looking forward to it,what a disappointment!!Beautiful spot but,sadly, food spoils it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    77
    34
    16
    10
See reviews for
54
164
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

what a lovely warm and welcoming place this is everyone very friendly and helpful, lovely food and rooms beautifully decorated and warm and cosy...i will definitely be back thanks for a lovely stay.
melanie, yate

Room Tip: room 7 was large and you can see the sea when laying in bed lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent a family weekend in Feb and had a fab time. The rooms were cosy, warm and the staff were so attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were awesome with a great selection and the evening dinner was quality. Will be returning for sure. The location is 5* with a 2mins walk to the beach and then you can take the coastal path to Tintagel etc. Awesome !!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a two night anniversary trip to the Post William on 2/3 March . Service excellent, rooms clean and comfortable, food tasty and resonably priced and staff helpful and friendly. It helps that the views from the rooms and restaurant are so special. Dog friendly pub/bedrooms, but all doggy guests were impeccably behaved so didn't really notice that they were there and there was no 'doggy' smell in the bedrooms either.

The one downside is the numerous potholes in the drive on the way to the Port William. Suspension didn't like it and there are so many this year that you can't avoid them, Come on St Austell get your access roads sorted!!

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views of the sea/beach except one which i think is a family room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01840770230, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff gave you the usual "Port William" treatment.

As for the downside that you have mentioned regarding the Pot Holes, this is an on-going and complex issue. The main fact is that we do not actually own the road and is known as an "un-adopted road", which means that neither the local council or any individual business or resident actually has ownership of the road leading up to our pub. We have taken the matter into our own hands and maintained the road for a number of years now, but feel that it has now come a time were far more intensive work need to be done.

That being said we are currently looking into the situation further, to see if there is anything we can do, as we do not want such a situation affecting the pleasure of any of our guests that stay with us. We are trying to reach an agreement with all local residents who have properties joining the road, whereby a contribution is made by them, with The Port William paying the majority of the cost. As you can see this is a tricky subject.

We do however note that this is a current issue for guests such as yourself and therefore you will be pleased to hear that we are due to do a complete repair and resurface of the road on the 19th of March 2013.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to see you soon,



Many thanks,

Ashley Sharp
Assistant Manager
The Port William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend away at the Port William Inn.

Everything about our stay was just about perfect. A very warm welcome from Ashley, bags taken to the room, and good explanation about dinner & breakfast arrangements. We had room 3 - spotlessly clean, great bathroom and very comfortable bed. But the best bit - being able to lie in bed and hear the mighty Atlantic Ocean roar.

We ate in both evenings - food at dinner well cooked, excellent presentation accompanied by superb service - especially from Will and Sam.

The landlord and Landlady - Larry and Sue are excellent hosts - chatting to guests and making a lovely atmosphere.

The cliff walks are stunning, the beach at low tide simply lovely - and the surrounding area very dramatic.

the one down side - no mobile phone service - but on second thoughts - what a bonus!!

Sue, Larry, the team - thank you for creating a perfect weekend - we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have eaten at the Port William in the past but this was our first stay. We stayed 3 nights.
We found everything from the room to the food just great. Our room (No. 7) was lovely, spotlessly clean, warm and decorated very nicely. Our breakfasts everyday were excellent and the staff could not do enough for us.
We ate there every night and these evening meals were equally as good.
Looking forward to returning, The Port William is in one of the most beautiful places in Cornwall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at The Port William. Perched up on a cliff it has the most amazing views from its windows of the crashing waves of the Atlantic. You can go to sleep with the window open and fall asleep to the sound of waves. Now I know there's building work going on at the moment but that really doesn't excuse the quality of the food on offer. We stayed 3 days. Breakfast was cold on the first day, cold and overcooked on the second day and on the third the breakfast was still cold and they had run out of orange juice and marmalade. We ate in the bar 2 nights but were so disappointed with the food we ate out on the last night. When we were checked out we received rather a poor apology and certainly no offer of compensation. This place is not expensive so we don't expect luxury but please Port William get your catering sorted out as its letting down your view!

Room Tip: room one is nearest the sea. Dogs are allowed in bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port William Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.