We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, excellent location, lovely staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Camelot Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Camelot Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tintagel
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, excellent location, lovely staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came from Australia for a family reunion.

From the moment our niece found Camelot Castle on the internet we knew we were in for something different and fun.

On arrival we were not disappointed and that remained the case throughout our stay.

While all the staff were great we interacted with three in particular who need a special mention, namely Sarah, Kamil and Agata. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

From dealing with our rabble over breakfast and dinner to preparing steak and chicken for our parents dogs. They kept their cool, acted on their own initative and made us feel welcome and at home. They are valuable members of your staff.

The only area for improvement would be the rooms, while ours was large and the bed very comfortable, the decor was a bit tired and the room could use a repaint but it was clean and suited us.

All told we had a great family reunion and we enjoyed Camelot Castle immensley.

We hope to return.

Thanks again
From
The expanded Tomlin Family

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    199
    78
    81
    75
See reviews for
108
396
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We took a 3 day weekend break at this castle hotel. The twin room was very classic. Nothing special with dark furniture and a fireplace and only one window could be opened, The windows needed a good clean. The lift had a very old system of an internal gate door. We understood the place is currently undergoing renovation but our room obviously fell into the non-restauration category. The bathroom was a sort of room cabinet unit with a shower unit/toilet/washhand basin (all in one) with not much room to move around in - definitely not advisable for older or larger people. Table in room was not very solid. No baggage racks available only chairs to balance suitcases. Beds were not well made. However, the staff at the hotel were very pleasant although we didnt think that the sugar that fell into the carpet from the sugar bowl in the restaurant should have been just put back into the bowl ! However, the views from the hotel were fantastic.

Room Tip: From second floor upwards providing ancient lift works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having stayed at the castle on 2 occasions 2 years apart I can honestly say that seldom have I experienced service and friendliness like it....Friendly is an understatement, nothing is too much trouble for the staff or the owners who introduced themselves to us and showed a genuine interest in our stay. I do intend to visit the castle again and would unreservedly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea views are spectacular but there are no bad views from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Oh my word! What a creepy experience!
The "artist" owner greeted me at the door like a long lost relative and proceeded to show me his art work. He didn't try to flog me any of his paintings though, but I was expecting more than a short chat about Scientology, which they call "Mythology Earth". Whatever, it was creepy and weird.
As a single woman travelling alone, I felt extremely uncomfortable from the outset, and felt as if I were being watched the whole time.
The room was dated,although reasonably clean, but the "bathroom" was definitely a portaloo/ aircraft/ caravan toilet pod with a tiny shower.
It was extremely draughty as the windows didn't shut properly (despite being painted closed) and I was grateful I hadn't booked in January!
The building is only about 120 years old but it has been decorated to look like a medieval castle - sadly it looks tacky and it is very dark and foreboding.
When I stayed, pretty much at the peak holiday time, there were only 6 cars in the car park, and at least 2 of those belonged to the owners.
There was nothing I could really put my finger on, but I just couldn't relax and ended up sleeping with a chair wedged against the door.
Not recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have just returned from a long weekend in the North Cornwall area. We choose the Camelot Castle has our base for the duration of our stay in the area. We arrived on the Friday at around 2.30pm and our three rooms were not ready. The receptionist asked us to wait in the lounge and asked if we wanted tea or coffee which we thought would be a nice gesture as the rooms where not ready but they then added to cost of the drinks to our bill. The rooms where small and the beds smaller. The bathroom consisted on a plastic pod stuck in the corner of the room which was probably constructed in the eastern block and shipped in with 90% of the staff. The staff where always pleasant bur some of them struggled with basic English. The hotel was full of art work that looked like a bomb had gone off in a paint factory. On the plus point the views from the hotel are exceptional and the local area is truly lovely. The village of Tintagel is very nice and the King Arthur's Arms pub was a great resting hole with some really great food and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We arrived to Cornwall awed by the beauty of our surroundings and as we drove up to the castle we were thrilled. We arrived slightly early which was no trouble and were even upgraded by Mark the concierge who was wonderful and helpful. Our room was really a suite with a terrace and a hand carved four poster bed and you can walk over to next cliff to Tintagel Catle = legendary birth place of King Arthur . We were told this was Ava Gardner's room when she filmed a movie regarding King Arthur and we can see why . We felt like the Lord and Lady of the Castle - and met a wonderful fellow guest who is a photographer who took some shots for us in the Great Room . We loved it so much we stayed an extra night at the last moment and Mark again was very aacomadating and helpful . The restaurant was excellent delicious very fresh well prepared food and excellent service . It was a castle but casual relaxed and you were made to feel welcome . We can not wait to come here again and bring more friends /family as they were amazed by our photos . Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: Room 103 is incredible with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were tired on arrival had our meals brought to our room. The room was spacious and clean with a beautiful view. The food was very good and served in a delightful dining room.
The hotel was dog friendly and our dog was made to feel as welcome as we were.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.