We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue & Tony - 3 day break in an unusual hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Camelot Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tintagel
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sue & Tony - 3 day break in an unusual hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had read a lot of reviews about this hotel before we went there and I must admit we were feeling a bit apprehensive about it. We didn't know what to expect when we read about the pods. We were surprised when we got there to find that we were in a wonderful room with a fantastic view of the whole bay and a four poster bed. We had a pod, it was small but spotlessly clean. Our attitude is that you only ever sleep in the room, it was clean and suited us well. The food was delicious, you couldn't fault it at all, especially breakfast. There are a lot of interesting walks around the hotel and the village is lovely too. All in all we had a great stay and would advise that you go there with an open mind as it is different.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    183
    71
    75
    73
See reviews for
101
352
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

6 of us from Wales recently stayed at Camelot Castle on a mid week deal. This is a lovely, quirky hotel, ideal for the location, the service from the friendly staff, the quality of food in the dining room and the quality of the accommodation. We felt that the priority of the staff was to make our stay as enjoyable as possible which they succeeded in doing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Three friends and I went away for a break, we picked on the Camelot Castle Hotel as we had brochure through the door and it looked really nice. Upon arrival staff made us feel very welcome and all through our break they were attentive and very polite, nothing was too much trouble for them. Food we could not fault it - one exception, toast was always cold and bread very thin. It would have been much nicer to serve toast when our breakfast was served. Views from the hotel are fantastic and the hotel itself has lovely wood burning stoves with a cosy and friendly atmosphere. Only one complaint - unfortunately two of my friends had really tiny rooms with a very small handbasin and extremely small shower with plastic curtain. It was not good for someone who had not got rid of their weight from Christmas. This needs looking into. We all would return to Camelot Castle Hotel but we need to know that all our party had decent size rooms with decent showers. Plumbing also needs sorting out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I organised this surprise weekend stay at the Camelot Hotel after receiving a flyer through the post. It was to mark my Husbands 50th Birthday and what a wonderful weekend we had. The hotel is a very special atmospheric place, you almost expect to see King Arthur himself walking around the corridors. The staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive, the rooms comfortable, the food delicious and plentiful. A magnificent building amongst magnificent settings, the scenery from the hotel is breathtaking,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed at Camelot Castle for nights from 3rd Feb 2014 on their 3 night for 1 midweek early year deal. Its the second time we have stayed at the hotel - the last was 8 years ago. Its a fabulous place, amazing location right on the coast but is more than just a little bit quirky. The staff are lovely and very helpful and seem to be constantly on shift, but clearly very loyal to the hotel. Prior to us coming they answered some questions I had regarding bringing small child and gave us some information on what to do locally. Very helpful and made sure a proper single bed was in our room rather than a fold away as we requested however could not put a microwave or small fridge in the room which caused us a few issues with our sons early morning and late night milk. They were very helpful in getting his dinner ready before ours though so it wan't the end of the world. We booked a Deluxe suite and were very kindly upgraded to the West Wing Suite, which is the one which is on the website and has been newly refurbished. Its a lovely suite but certainly not massive and only has 2 wicker chairs so not really a suite - just a nice four poster room really. The bathroom is lovely with double sinks, a Jacuzzi bath and separate shower and has small walk in wardrobe. Since we came in 2006 the hotel has undergone some refurbishment and I understand they are working slowly through each room. They have also done the bar / lounge and the restaurant is very pleasant. Some of the other areas, including the immediate grounds are a little tired but this is a huge hotel and a massive project which I imagine is very costly. Although some areas are tired they certainly do not lack character. The hotel is very proud of its owners artwork which is displayed everywhere and is probably not to everyone's taste but certainly not offensive in any way. There are self made Camelot Castle newspapers everywhere and a video in the room promoting the 3 owners and their life styles, which are a little self indulgent. There is a beautifully ornate room by the bar belonging to the owners is open to see in but not accessible and roped off as if a museum room and the staff have fairly ostentatious and slightly ill fitting uniforms which are quite sweet but clearly show how much the owners care about the hotel, even if its image is a little mixed. It is very eccentric and clearly is an advocate of local history, art (and Kazakhstan, apparently). The housekeeping is of a very good standard and the food is also of a good quality and service fast. It is expensive, and I remember this from our last visit and even on the 3 for 1 deal we had, it was not the cheapest place to visit. If they bought down their room prices slightly and managed their rates more frequently, I think they would find their revenue increases substantially (but in fairness I am an revenue sales manager for Hilton so room rates and occupancy strat are always high on my mind!). We will definitely come here again however. Real gem and despite all its oddities you can't help falling in love with it. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A truly beautiful and nostalgic adventure into an Arthurian dreamworld. The staff were charming and helpful, the views from our room breathtaking, and the food delicious (the chocolate puddings were a particular hit in our entourage). A wonderfully eccentric slice of magic in a humdrum world. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are amazing, you can see right down over the ruins of Tintagel Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had always wanted to stay here, so a recent offer enabled us to do just that. The staff are fabulous and loyal to the owners, which is refreshing these days. Wood burners in each lounge and the decor made it a very relaxing atmosphere, background music was just the right volume. Dogs are very welcome. I am glad I read Trip Advisor reviews before hand, as it prepared us for the unusual en-suites. They are small plastic pods as found on a ship. We had a very large room with a sea view and four-poster bed, but in need of refurbishing, the carpet was threadbare in places. They are working through the hotel refurbishing the rooms and I am sure they will be stunning. We were surprised to find that Ted Stourton smoked inside the hotel foyer, when it was stressed on arrival that there would be a £100 "fine" if guests smoked in the hotel. When challenged by my husband he said "it's a cigar not a cigarette and it's cold outside" . We thought it was unlawful to smoke in public places.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.