We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming , relaxing with a lovely bit of quirkiness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Camelot Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Camelot Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tintagel
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming , relaxing with a lovely bit of quirkiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The candle lit ambience, the roaring fires to greet us after a long days walking, the so polite and engaging staff . The incredible and unusaul art , and the view of all views made our stay here most memorable and relaxing .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    200
    78
    81
    76
See reviews for
108
398
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Polite attentive staff, beautiful building and scenery, great food. The cost to stay here is clearly reflected in the cost to keep the hotel running, great to see places like this still open to guests as a living working hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here by chance after driving through Tintagel looking for somewhere to shelter from the driving rain. Nice enough building, though a little tired decor wise, and a great location on the headland with outstanding views. We were told by the receptionist there was an art exhibition that was free to browse. We did, and to cut a long story short the artist 'just happened' to be working in his studio that day, and we were invited to look round, be sung to and see the 'famous' light box. And it was my opinion that the whole thing was a bit of a sales ploy to try and convince you that you were in the presence of 'the worlds greatest living artist' (his words). Not illegal, and quite clever really as you almost find yourself drawn in to the story, and when he offers you one of his pieces for just a few hundred pounds, you almost feel tempted. Just be aware if you go there, and might be worth googling Ted Stourton and John Mappin (the owners) before going, it makes for interesting reading.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We've just been for two nights (for the price of one) at Camelot; our second trip. Everything worked well, the staff were outstanding, the hotel was warm and welcoming and we ate well. Our room had a fabulous view of the stormy sea which was spectacular. The bed was really comfortable and our dog was made welcome.

It is an unusual place and there are many people who get over excited on the airways. Our view is that it offers good value, great service and the location is outstanding - simple as that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a night to celebrate our anniversary last weekend. We had read the reviews and so weren't expecting too much but were drawn in by the castle and surrounding scenery. The hotel itself is quite tired but the staff were lovely and very helpful- even bumped us up to a better room (at no extra charge), as we had a dog and not all rooms were dog friendly. However there were a couple of hidden charges we weren't expecting upon check out. There was an extra fee of £20 for the dog which is fine, but not expected and we were charged £20 for breakfast which we didn't expect either and thought was pretty steep considering it consisted of two omelettes and two glasses of orange juice. To be fair, we had missed breakfast which ended at 10.30 and they offered to rustle something up for us- however, if we knew it was going to cost £20 we would have eaten in the village! We had a fun time all in all but didn't feel it was value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have just returned home after a weekend break at Camelot. On arrival the staff were excellent, taking time to show us around the ground floor and then to our room. The room was lovely, high on the third floor overlooking the coast... Breathtaking scenery. Not sure about the bathroom pods, our ensuite was of good standard, full size bath with shower over. The welcome DVD was slightly quirky but enjoyable. The bar and lounge was a fantastic place to relax after a day walking on the coast. Restaurant was beautiful and food delicious. The staff made ever effort to make our stay a great one without being obtrusive. I agree with a previous review, a little more history about the castle would have been nice. Parts do the building was currently under renovation whilst we were there. However, this did not impact on our stay one bit. We were even invited to view the renovations and make some suggestions. Obviously both owners and staff take a lot of pride in this magical place in Cornwall. Just being there brought back a lot of boyhood fantasies about Kings and Knights to a very happy 42 yr old. Well done Camelot. Here's to friends for life!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset - England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at the camelot hotel. I booked the hotel originally for just my wife and I for just before christmas but we where unable to make the booking at the last minute, the hotel where really helpful and moved our booking for no extra fee. My mother & farther in law decided to join us for the offer price of £99 pp for three nights including breakfast, I don't know where the lady who commented that the eggs where rubbery had eaten at but it couldn't have been here. The breakfast is fantastic for the price, everything is crooked from scratch so there is no buffet.
The staff are really good, the lounge bar and restaurant are really good and the views are stunning. Our only thoughts are the bathrooms are not very good but the rooms are nice, you'd be hard pressed to find accommodation & a breakfast for 3 nights for £99pp of this standard. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.