We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eerie and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin's Cave

Merlin's Cave
Tintagel Head, Tintagel, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 things to do in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located below Tintagel Castle, the birthplace of King Arthur, this cave is believed to be where Merlin lived. The caves are accessible from a footpath, but fill with water at high tide.
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Eerie and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The cave is open at both ends looking out to the Atlantic. The walls are lined with crystalline rocks of utter beauty and one can feel Merlin's presence there on an armchair made of golden rock. So so glad we visited this magical place - it will stay with me for a long long time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    40
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A cave, nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Only accessible at low tide down some steep steps and requires some climbing over huge rocks, boulders, etc. Had expected to see some signs, description about what we were looking at

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

it is lovely, but you need to get your timing right, when the tide is in you cannot get down to the cave. Also getting down to the cave itself is a little hazardous, you need to be fit to jump from the steps onto the rocks to get to the beach, if you are not fit this is impossible. We took the dog he is a big dog, we had to help lift him up the rocks to get him back up to the steps.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, Old England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Please do yourself a favour and buy a Tides book! We didn't plan well enough to spend sufficient time in the cave, but rushed down as the tide was coming in. The surf is strong and heavy and really comes in quickly so my shoes got a bit damp but was I bothered? Not a bit of it -

First, the atmosphere cannot be beaten. The place FEELS magical. And it's free. Unbelievable.

Second - Be warned! You do have to descend a staircase which abruptly ends and jump off (sit and slide off for me) onto a pile of rocks and navigate them to get to the sandy area by the mouth of the cave. The Man was having kittens as he is (justifiably) afraid I am going to fall and break another bone, but we'd come some distance to see this and no way was I going to stand fifty yards from it and not go inside, so off I went -

Last... I wish I'd had time to go all the way through the cave, which curves around and has an opening on either side of the island, but the water was already rushing in. So we took our photo (he duly followed me down once he realized I was determined - he's so good) and beat feet out there in a hurry. The photo of us came out beautifully but I do wish we'd had more time to take more pictures and explore. The feeling in the cave is powerful and the vibration is thick and I would like to spend time here again some day.

My children, ages 11 & 9, were not with us on this occasion but I believe they would have had a wonderful, wonderful time, and could easily have passed an hour here, perhaps two.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Magical and good fun for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This cave is a great place for kids to explore and excite them with stories of Merlin :-) It goes all the way under the island that Tintagel Castle is on. But be careful you don't get stranded by the tides as the cave gets filled with water.

The pebbles in the cave are a beautiful shimmery slate. A fun place to visit and you don't have to pay the National Heritage fee to enter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlin's Cave also viewed

 

Been to Merlin's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin's Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.