We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic Views But You Need T o Be Fit"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Tintagel PL34 0DB, England
01840 770328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Tintagel
Type: Ancient Ruins, Castles, Mysterious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“"Fantastic Views But You Need T o Be Fit"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have visited this English Heritage Castle on a few ocassions on our visits to Cornwall. We chose a lovely sunny October day this time and were rewarded with some fantastic scenic views & superb photo opportunitys.There is a long walk down to the cove and very,very steep steps up to what remains of the castle on the cliffs above,there is a cafe & gift shop at the bottom ,also a land rover ride back up to the car park for £2.00 if you dont fancy the steep walk back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    330
    112
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I loved being here, imagining ancient scenes of the settlement with the most amazing views. The setting, the view, the history made this feel like the mst magical place, hard to describe!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

All the old history, just a shame it had been raining when we went there. Lot's of steep steps a bit dangerous after the rain

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you sweep away all the Disney elements of the legend of King Arthur and go to Tintagel purely as a historic place, you will be blown away. There are some real interesting sections of the castle ruins which takes you back to centuries gone by and even pre medieval ruins on 'the island'. This is not a trip to make if you are not fit, or if you have a heart condition or vertigo as there are some steep climbs (mostly up properly formed steps) - definitely wear walking boots - but if you can make it the hard work is worth the effort with some staggering views from the cliffs - as beautiful as you will see anywhere on the world. Good facilities and a well stocked English Heritage shop (which will always have me parting with my money!).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Lots of steps but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have visited this place for fifty years and never tire of it. English Heritage are making it better through investment but further investment is required. Enactment players like at Hampton Court would bring it to life.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

Tintagel, Cornwall
Tintagel, Cornwall
 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintagel Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.