We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Tintagel PL34 0DB, England
01840 770328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I loved being here, imagining ancient scenes of the settlement with the most amazing views. The setting, the view, the history made this feel like the mst magical place, hard to describe!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    355
    116
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

All the old history, just a shame it had been raining when we went there. Lot's of steep steps a bit dangerous after the rain

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you sweep away all the Disney elements of the legend of King Arthur and go to Tintagel purely as a historic place, you will be blown away. There are some real interesting sections of the castle ruins which takes you back to centuries gone by and even pre medieval ruins on 'the island'. This is not a trip to make if you are not fit, or if you have a heart condition or vertigo as there are some steep climbs (mostly up properly formed steps) - definitely wear walking boots - but if you can make it the hard work is worth the effort with some staggering views from the cliffs - as beautiful as you will see anywhere on the world. Good facilities and a well stocked English Heritage shop (which will always have me parting with my money!).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Lots of steps but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have visited this place for fifty years and never tire of it. English Heritage are making it better through investment but further investment is required. Enactment players like at Hampton Court would bring it to life.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible views but not got the romance I was expecting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A sensational location. The views around Tintagel are superb. A very good restaurant -- I recommend the crab sandwich. The castle itself is not as impressive as I would like and if you don't like steps -- don't go here. BUT the views on the headland really are simply magnificent and I really enjoyed exploring the caves. A good afternoon out -- especially if the weather is good. Do note -- the walk down is VERY steep, so the walk back to the town is reasonably hard work.. there is a land rover shuttle for a small charge though for those who don't want to puff up the hill

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

Tintagel, Cornwall
Tintagel, Cornwall
 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintagel Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.