We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've Gotta be Fit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Tintagel PL34 0DB, England
01840 770328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Tintagel
Type: Ancient Ruins, Castles, Mysterious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“You've Gotta be Fit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Second visit to this outstanding area of North Cornwall. I still doubt any link with the legend of King Arthur, but there is no taking away the sheer breathtaking beauty of this part of the world.

Its £6 per adult to get in and the landrover to take you back to the village is £2 (50p for dogs!), after climbing both parts of the castle, you need help back up the hill, trust me!

Wear something comfy and hard wearing to walk in (stunned that people were wearing high heals and complaining their feet hurt!!) and you have to be reasonably fit - there's a fair few climbs, but the views are completely worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    330
    112
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We didn't arrive until 4.00pm so didn't pay to see the bit of the castle you pay to see. Instead we went into the free bit, a bit of a hike up to it, but stunning views. Personally I probably wouldn't bother paying as from what we could see from where we were it wasn't worth it! However it was worth visiting to see the free bits, we didn't go in the cafe but it was busy. The shop was lovely and staff friendly. You can get a lift up and down the drive for £2, we walked but if you have poor mobility it would be a God send as the walk is hard work!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

An amazing day out, lots of steps and dizzying heights but all well worthwhile for the stunning views. I can't recommend "The Beach Cafe" at the bottom enough. After a superb morning stepmastering and admiring the amazing views (really amazing) we stopped for a quick lunch at this cafe - don't miss it. We had crab and brie and bacon sandwiches, they were delicious and the ladies in the cafe very friendly and welcoming. It was a really memorable day - for all the best reasons and we will go back asap, loved it all.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only go if you have time and the weather is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

As long as you love walking and if the weather is decent (we were lucky and the sun shone all day) or if you have annual passes to English Heritage bother with this. From an exercise point of view, the steep steps and the hilly walks are all great - the views are brilliant and the beach and caves great fun to play on and explore. Be very careful with unruly wayward kids as its a high cliff with no barriers. For what it is and for the information that's there in terms of the film and then signage on site its about average value. Go visit the village its self too as the high street isnt so long and the houses are picturesque and the pubs are welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent a couple of hours climbing over the site. Be prepared for lots of uneven stairs to get to the top but the view is truly spectacular. It was also considerably colder on top than in the valley so take a jacket. There is also a well stocked gift shop which is worth a look. They run a shuttle in a vehicle from near the main street to the gift shop and back which may be useful if you run out of energy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

Tintagel, Cornwall
Tintagel, Cornwall
 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintagel Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.