We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Tintagel PL34 0DB, England
01840 770328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Tintagel
Type: Ancient Ruins, Castles, Mysterious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited at Christmas, when it was pouring it down with rain and extremely windy, but the rugged coast line where the Castle sits is beautiful and breathtaking whatever the weather. Definitely worth a visit and Tintagel is a lovely village with plenty of shops and pubs. I had my first mulled Cider in the town and it was lovely...I'm hooked on them now but can't get them anywhere else.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    330
    112
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“going back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

camelot castle is beautiful. I have never in all my travels experienced hospitality as great as you receive from them. They bend over backwards for you. You feel like you are in a castle. The staff WOW I am going back again in March 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“a bit knocked aout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tintagel is not for me in the summer it gets very full. if you wish to vist the Castel you can walk to it or take a four wheel drive shuttle to the Castel it's worth a look. i think time team had a go at it some time back. try to pick a nice day as it is exposed when windy or raining Enjoy. King Arther is not there sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“English heritage at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nostalgic revisit for my wife who visited with parents as a young teen and I'd never been.

Limited parking at the base of the hill near the cafe, other parking in the town. The walk from town to the castle is downhill, not too steep going that way but might be too much coming back for some people, and there is a Land Rover shuttle service, (fee payable).

We opted for the mainland route to the castle which splits away from the main road down as this was a more level route and passes three points of interest. The alternate route is to continue to the base of the castle and walk up. Plaques with information about the history and legend of the castle are dotted about the ruins.

We really enjoyed the challenging walk, through the castle ruins themselves and on the exposed headland & cliffs, it really got the adrenalin going! The scenery is stunning with dramatic coastal views and birdlife.

The ruins themselves are quite sheltered but once on the open cliffs it can be windy. There are numerous steep steps (all with handrails) throughout the grounds which could be slippy in wet weather - this might not be for anyone who's scared of heights. Sensible footwear and clothing are in order for a visit here.

Overall, we really enjoyed the history, scenery and natural beauty, well worth visiting and well done to English Heritage for maintaining such a pristine site.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A walk in the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stunning sea views and steeped in history. A true step back in time. I feel very lucky to have been able to visit the site as i'm afraid future generations might not be so lucky due the erosion of the castle from the sea

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

Tintagel, Cornwall
Tintagel, Cornwall
 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintagel Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.