We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tintagel Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Tintagel PL34 0DB, England
01840 770328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tintagel Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The feeling of history is all around you. Everything you need there including tea rooms and facilities. A photographers paradise.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    356
    116
    24
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Tintagel Castle - stunning place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolutely stunning location atop the cliffs.
As others have mentioned - it might not be for the unfit or less-abled amongst us (although I did do it just a few days after twisting my ankle - I took it slowly and very carefully ans still managed to get to just about all of it)
There are loads of steps but the views are really stunning - each time you think you have seen the best view you turn around or walk a few paces and there is another equally stunning or even better view. Not altogether sure I would want to visit on a particularly cold or overcast day as the views would be less spectacular and there is just about no shelter from the wind.

There is a short film to watch about Tintagel before you go up to the castle and that was really good.

There is a cave down on the beach called Merlin's cave - because of my ankle I did not manage to get down to that but the rest of the people I was with did and said it was cool to see a cave go right through the headland that the castle is perched on.

From the village, the base of the castle steps is a bit of a walk (think they estimate 7-10 minutes walk) - fine on the way down but uphill on the way back - because of my ankle we paid for the landrover service to take us down and back up (£2 each way but the driver added some interesting snippets about Tintagel, the cave and tide times)

While we were wandering around the castle there were several kestrels flying around.

I would thoroughly recommend going here - I would add that wheelchairs and pushchairs would not be able to get up the steps and it should be noted that there are no fences around the cliffs at the top so I know my visit would have been a totally different visit had I been having to watch over a couple of young kiddies

(oh and toilets are at the visitor centre - none up on the headland

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“King Arthurs Pyle!....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

What a fantastic, mystic, fairytale location!.... Although not for the faint hearted of unfit! Lots of climbing and walking, but worth it for the views as they are stunning....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Arthurian law”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A place to dream, it was built in 1233 by Richard, Earl of Cornwall to link him forever with King Arthur.

It will stretch your legs the climb to the top, plus the climb back up to the main road, but just take your time and give yourself plenty of time to enjoy it all. Think of the legend and go with your own thoughts, romance a bit and maybe you can be a main character.

It is no different today with property, location, location but this was more strategic. Climb down the rocks to the beach area for some great photo shots, nice small waterfall but a cove to add a backdrop. Several stops along the climb up reveal a number of interesting places , cross reference them with your guide and you may be surprised.

Walk the perimeter and take in the views, look out to sea and maybe you will see the ghosts of bygone days. A very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours, a nice cafe is there for some local nourishment, although the Tintagel town area has a lot to offer in the food and beverage realms. Try a homemade Pasty from the local bakeshop, stand outside and watch them prepare different ones from scratch before they go to the ovens.

Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“TINTAGEL AND TINTAGEL CASTLE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Set aside at least 1/2 day for Tintagel and its attractions. Parking is easy, most of Tintagel town is a level walk. The castle requires a little more fitness but is well worth a couple of hours
and there are landrovers to wisk up there and back in the summer if you wish.

Visit the vistor centre now run by the parish Council for loads of local knowledge and gifts.
There are several pubs, restaurants and some good pasty producers. Some gift shops are
of the 'dark arts' type and there are other more general ones.

Ideal for all ages - and near to Boscastle to make a days trip worthwhile

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

Tintagel, Cornwall
Tintagel, Cornwall
 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintagel Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.