We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lewis's Bed and Breakfast
Bossiney Road, Tintagel, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wow, where to begin? Having read the reviews on this site, we were so hoping not to expect too much and be disappointed, and we weren't! John is a fantastic host, no request too much trouble. We stayed in the Rose room which was lovely and benefitted from a balcony with a seaview, where we enjoyed some lovely evenings relaxing before, and after, sampling the delightful food and drink of some (most!) of Tintagel's Inns. There is so much character in this b&b, a charming, clean, well appointed place to stay, we will never stay anywhere else when in this area. John's breakfasts are lovely, satisfying the largest of appetites, and for those who prefer something lighter, a great choice of fresh fruits etc is available. John is great company, just take his advice if you need to ask and you won't go far wrong, we didn't. Simply the best b&b and host we have had the pleasure of staying with.

Room Tip: Rose room is lovely at back of house with balcony but can't imagine the rooms at the front would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
93
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hello everybody!
We are from the Principality of Liechtenstein and we stayed one night in this amazing Bed and Breakfast! The rooms were spacious and airy with very comfortable beds. They were lovely furnished and you felt immediately at home. The breakfast was very rich and tasty.
The owner was very friendly and obliging. For this reasons, we would definitely recommend this B&B!
Nice Greetings!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience on our self drive trip around Cornwall. John was both charming and funny. "I don't do small" was his response when my wife asked for a smaller breakfast. The room we had was great and followed the theme of the house, being that it was stuffed with furniture. If I had a criticism it would be the size of the bath towels...probably had more to do with the size of the breakfasts.Tintagel is a wonderful place full of surprises and breathtaking beauty. Lewis's B&B is ideally situated right in town and easy walk to restaurant's and the coast. Our hope is to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our first visit to Lewis B&B, we have stayed in Tintagel many times this being the best place we have stayed by far.The friendliest of places, relaxing,clean comfortable a real home from home.Breakfast was more than enough for even the biggest of appetites and a great selection.John is an excellent host and from now on we know where we will be staying

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at lewis's b&b now for quite a few years and have to say that we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. John is absolutely amazing as a host and so helpful if you need information or in our case this time, help when we had a problem with the car!!! he had us sorted in no time. As usual, you cannot fault the rooms or the breakfasts, just perfect. We would definately reccommend lewis's b&b to everyone, you will not find a better welcome. Thankyou john again, we very much look forward to seeing you again in september.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lewis's was recommended to my husband and me after our first choice of B&Bs in the area could not accommodate us for the dates we wanted. We stayed three nights. Upon arrival, after driving the harrowing roads of Cornwall, Mr. Lewis made us a pot of tea, talked to us for a few minutes, then instinctively withdrew to let us quietly relax and unwind in the front sitting room, enjoying our tea and biscuits. It was the perfect welcome. We stayed in the Turret Room, large and sumptuous with a four-poster bed and antique furnishings. Breakfasts were very good, and our host recommended places to eat for dinner; the first of which was so good that we ate there all three nights. I was very reluctant to leave when the time came. Location is very convenient to Tintagel Castle and the Old Post Office; all walkable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First visit to Lewis's and had a warm welcome from our host John. Stayed in the Rose Room which was very comfortable and spotless with good views out to sea. The English breakfast was just the best with thick bacon, succulent sausages, two eggs amongst other ingredients. John advised us on local eating houses and various attractions. You won't be disappointed with this B&B

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lewis's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bossiney Road, Tintagel, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Also Known As:
Lewis's Bed And Breakfast Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lewis's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list