We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Am Very, Very Grateful...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fentafriddle

Fentafriddle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fentafriddle
Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I Am Very, Very Grateful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have rented properties from Unique Home Stays, twice. Both times we have been very impressed with the standard of accomodation - truly stylish and luxurious, beyond our expectations. And, always immaculately pristine.

Agreed, you do pay an absolute premimum price for their cottages - but this is clearly because they offer such superb accomodation, in stunning locations.

If I was renting a cottage, that had previously had 3 little children, and a large hairy dog in it for a week then I would ABSOLUTELY hope, and expect, that the cleaners would spend many hours cleaning the property very thoroughly, indeed.

It is because of these extremely high standards of presentation, decor and attention to detail, that we feel very secure booking a property through Unique Home Stays, because we know they only offer top-class accomodation, interior designed and beautifully presented.

I am a bit fanatical about my interior design and cleanliness standards - and am so weary of too many rental cottages being offered, with tired-looking interiors, dated furnishings and just a cursory clean between guests.

These cottages might be deemed perfectly acceptable by a lot of people...but, I'm certainly not one of them. I want tasteful interiors, quality furnishings and immaculate presentation & cleanliness. And, I am so very, very grateful that Unique Home Stays are one of the very few, rental companies that can provide this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed in the main barn in October and had such a special time. The barns are beautiful, practical, tastefully decorated and blissfully quiet.
You are surrounded by rolling fields and close to a rugged Cornish beach only minutes down the road. It is outstandingly beautiful.
The accommodation provides everything you would need and is understated luxury. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Everyone plans, researches and ultimately dreams of finding the perfect place to celebrate their marriage with their friends and family. We had the greatest pleasure in finding the most perfect place imaginable to host our wedding day, Fentafriddle. The location alone is simply breath taking, panoramic views of the sea and across the beautiful north cornwall coastline, incredible landscape surrounds fentafriddle, making it a breath taking place to spend such a special time.
Our family and friends stayed throughout the barns, everything had been taken care of, the exterior and interiors are truely splendid, finished to an exceptional standard. The whole weekend went wonderfully and this was all down to the planning and care taken by James and Lucy to ensure a wonderful time was had by all, everything had been considered and thought of making it such a relaxing and brilliant celebration.
Fentafriddle is a truly exceptional destination, we didn't want to leave and are desperate to return for another stay.... along with the whole wedding party who can not wait to return! Fentafriddle is the most perfect place to stay, to celebrate and to relax with your family and friends, you can not ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Over the period of 5 years I have at various times stayed in all 3 "barns", and have just returned from a 7 day stay in Little Fentafriddle. I can't think of any negatives about these superb rentals. James and Lucy Scott have thought of everything,you want for nothing. 5* welcome pack when you arrive, underfloor heating, water from the spring, very comfortable beds with excellent bed linen, towels, soaps etc. Terrace with top of the range barbeque, nothing to spoil your view of the sea. No other buildings around just fields and cows, fantastic setting, pure heaven!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed at Fentafriddle's smaller sister cottage, 'Little Fentafriddle', for a week at the beginning of April with our 3 children aged under 5 and our large hairy golden retriever. Firstly about the cottage itself. We paid 995 pounds for a week which is a premium price for 2 bed accommodation in the countryside. However we felt this was a fair price; the location of the cottage is stunning with amazing views of the sea. The cottage itself is well furnished, very pretty, with touches of 'luxury' including a beautiful wood burner.

We visited many of the attractions in the area. Highlights being Crealy's, Tamar Otter Centre, Eden Project, and Trethorne Leisure Centre. We tried to visit Tintagel castle but this is NOT suitable for small children or pushchairs so we were very disappointed about that as there is no information on the NT website about this and we only found out when we walked all the way to the main entrance.

Our main problem with this accommodation came 5 days after we returned home, when we heard via the agent (Unique Home Stays) that the owner was taking 70 pounds from our damages deposit for 7 hours of 'additional cleaning'. His claims of soiling were unsubstantiated but there was nothing we could do about it. He said the floor was dirty but surely this cleaning is covered in the rental costs? The agent, Unique Home Stays agreed to reduce this by half to 35 pounds but only after a lengthy, and stressful argument. If the owner had asked for an additional 1-2 hours then we probably would not have had an issue but when someone claims 7 hours at 70 pounds then you expect detailed justification and proof. We did not get it despite asking. It is worth noting also for dog owners that you pay an extra 50 pounds for the dog just to 'be there'. Do not expect this to cover any additional cleaning caused by dog hair etc.

Another point to note is that we were advised by the owner to try the walk from the cottage to the local pub, The Port William. This walk is not suitable for small children or pushchairs which we only discovered after trying to trek for half an hour through a bumpy field, over a 5 ft wall style with a double pushchair. The owner also advised us to try the beach at Trebarwith Strands which again is not suitable for families with small children who cannot be easily carried in a backpack. Access to the beach is over a lot of bumpy rocks and only with difficulty did we get down there with a pushchair. We were disappointed that the owner, who could clearly see we had 3 small children, did not give us better advice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremanon, Owner at Fentafriddle, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Little Fentafriddle.

Firstly, we are saddened and disappointed that the accommodation did not reach your expectations. We strive for the very best with our rental properties and your feedback is much appreciated.

We also appreciate your feedback regarding the advice regarding local attractions. This is the first time we have ever had a negative response to recommendations that are offered in good faith and from personal experience.

We are grateful for your response as it will help us improve our advice to future guests but we do hope that you can appreciate and understand that any feedback for the National Trust would possibly be better directed at them.

Secondly, we are also extremely disappointed that you had a stressful conversation regarding any extra cleaning charge. For absolute clarity, please rest assured that this is only ever applied in exceptional circumstances (in fact, in seven years this the first occasion this fee has ever been applied). The extra charge was only applied due to the unusually poor state that the entire property was left in – quite possibly the result of the three young children and the large hairy dog (as per your review).

The extra charge was for three cleaners taking an extra 2.5 hours each to clean the barn to bring the property back to the standard that we require and would be expected from our next guests. This would not have been applied unless it was absolutely necessary.

Once again we would like to thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for your feedback regarding your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fentafriddle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fentafriddle

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fentafriddle Farm has three luxury self-catering holiday cottages near Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. Accommodation is secluded, and the peaceful farm has incredible ocean views, fresh sea air and easy beach access. Perfect for relaxing, surfing, walking. Also a licensed wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fentafriddle Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fentafriddle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fentafriddle to your Saves list