We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B and B we've experienced world wide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trenowan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trenowan
Save
You added Trenowan to your Saves list
Treknow | Tintagel, Tintagel PL34 0EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The best B and B we've experienced world wide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We travelled through Devon and Cornwall on a two month visit to the UK. We have been returning to England for 35 years and have stayed in a variety of accommodation. Trenowan surpassed everywhere including more expensive places. From our first email contact with Viv through to the very warm welcome with freshly baked cake and coffee. The attention to detail was excellent, with generous supplies in the room, toiletries from a local organic herbery, high quality linen and soft towels and the beds so comfortable it was a struggle to get up. But when we did the breakfast was delicious, with Dorset mueslies, fresh fruit salad and local home made jams and free range eggs. Viv and Iain were wonderful hosts, even offering to drive to pick us up from the pub nearby after our evening meal. The house is on a public footpath to the SW coastal path, and there's lots of walking and tourist attractions nearby. We stayed in the Blue Room and had double the space one normally expects. We also had the use of a comfortable sitting room with squishy couches and log fire and plenty of local info and guides. We were offered tea and cake whenever we came back in.........we could have stayed a week rather than the 2 days we had. We were genuinely made to feel like special guests or friends, but after reading this site I realise that everyone felt the same way! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is an absolutely amazing B&B and the hosts, Vivienne and Iain, were very welcoming. I will be recommending it to everyone and looking forward to my next trip back. We stayed in the yellow room (or should I say, suite) which was absolutely huge - amazing views across fields to the sea, the biggest, comfiest bed I've ever slept in (and being 6ft3, it means a lot), huge dressing room through to a lovely en suite. Attention to detail was evident everywhere, from the wedgewood china to the locally sourced soaps. I didn't think it could get any better but breakfast surpassed my expectations. Cereals, fruit salad and a full cooked breakfast with high quality, delicious ingredients. Only a 10 minute walk down to the beach, or a 15 minute walk to Tintagel, this is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing, quiet holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Viv and Iain are so friendly and helpful. Our room *(Gold Room ) was so large and the bed so comfy with a lovely view across the fields to the sea. Fresh milk in the room with the tea and coffee was one of the little extras that make this place so nice. We don't normally have cooked breakfasts, but theirs was too good to miss. We recommend this B&B and would even drive off our route to stay here again when in Cornwall.

J & J Dale Northallerton North Yorkshire

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nettleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We decided to get away from all the fuss and watch the Royal Wedding in peace, and it was peace indeed that we found. We stayed in the Gold room which has a glorious sea view and a giant private bathroom just down the hall. We just went padding down the hallway in the softest of bathrobes and never ran into anyone. You have no idea how glad we were we chose Trenowan. Thank you for the peace, for Cornwall and especially for the jam and clotted cream scones on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here for two nights for a short break in Cornwall. We stayed in the blue room which has lovely sea views and is very spacious with a separate dressing room which leads through to the bathroom. The room had a huge king size bed, very comfortable. The room was very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water. There was a large choice at breakfast of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, toast and full English which filled us up enough to skip lunch. The owner Vivienne has very good knowledge of the local area and gave us lots of ideas on places to go. The location is ideal, only around 15 mins walk to Tintagel and 10 mins walk from the restaurant and pub at Trebarwith Strand so it is walking distance to places to eat in the evening whilst being tranquil and quiet.
I imagine a similar standard of room in a hotel would be much much more expensive so it is very good value for money. We wished we stayed for longer because there is so much to do in the area so we may well be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

hello, i am a field service engineer world wide, which takes me across all corners of the
world,encountering different cultures & cuisines, staying in various hotels with 2-5 star
ratings, but never have i been made to feel more welcome in my 35 years of travel than i did
staying with vivienne & iain , this couple seem to have their own genuine brand of welcome
which is quite unique, vivienne & iain are the most genuine,kind hearted human beings i
have had the pleasure of meeting, i as a rule do not like B&B'S, but after staying at trenowan
it has redefined my understanding of the word B&B, vivenne & iain are extremely professional individuals with very unique set of values,the other outstanding quality is that they are
highly customer focused, they just can't do enough for the staying guest, i feel very
privileged to share their lovely home for a brief time, i have vowed to my self that when
ever i am working in this area, i will make sure that i am booked in this B&B, by the way
i stayed in the blue room , which for £40/ night you get most comfortable bed,free wi fi,
well equipped bathroom,comfortable chairs, massive wardrobe, plenty of power points,
stunning sea views, curtains that screen out light well, bedroom decor & level of equip-
ment is of very high standard, puts expensive hotels to shame if you make comparison,
this B&B i highly recommend, the detials of this B&B will be going on to our company
data base for future ref & use for other company colleagues,i would like to wish vivienne
& iain a prosperous future,

Room Tip: i stayed in blue room, found it to be very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

On arrival we were greeted by a big smile and cream teas. We were shown to our room (blue room) in the beautiful, well kept b&b . The room is very large and the bed extremely comfortable. The room boasts amazing views. There is a heated towell rail and luxurious dressing gowns so you can fully relax and pamper yourself. We stayed for 3 nights and felt relaxed and at ease for the entire time. This was also down to Vivienne and Iain who run a great operation. They went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our break and are genuinely nice people who offered lots of useful info about the local area. We tucked into a fantastic continental/full english breakfast every morning which set us up for the day. We particularily liked the fact that they use local produce....eg..jams and spreads at breakfast, home grown tomatoes, fresh flowers from the garden and the toiletries were from the local herbery. The b&b is in a great location with both trebarwith strand and tintagel accessible by cliff walk. I can't recomend the trenowan enough and this is the only place we will consider staying at on our next visit to tintagel. Mike and Kate

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trenowan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenowan

Address: Treknow | Tintagel, Tintagel PL34 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a relaxed and friendly coastal retreat with a touch of indulgence - somewhere where you can take a deep breath and unwind following a day out exploring the Cornish coast and moors, visiting National Trust properties or surfing at nearby Trebarwith Strand then Trenowan, a Victorian house with coastal views and within 300 yards of the coastal path is the B & B for you. A warm welcome with a pot of tea or coffee and homemade cake awaits you here at Trenowan before a visit to Tintagel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trenowan Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trenowan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.