We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real favourite to return too again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Michael House
Save
You added Michael House to your Saves list
Trelake Lane | Treknow, Tintagel PL34 0EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real favourite to return too again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Around the world I've stayed in some real gems, but if there was one place I'd return too tomorrow it would have to be Michael House.
The location is stunning . Not only are the views and the surrounding area beautiful it's in the quieter part of Cornwall so not as 'busy' as the tourist hot spots (which are still within easy reach).
The house itself is beautiful. It perfectly treads the line between a guest house and a home from home. The views are gorgeous, there is both a calmness and a friendliness provided by the owners. The accommodation is well sized, nicely furnished and the beds are possibly the most comfortable I've ever slept in.
The breakfast in this B&B is as good as the beds, starting with waking to the smell of fresh baked bread which is a nice appetiser (along with cereals, fruit, muesli etc) for the full cooked breakfast which is either Vegetarian or Vegan. The proprietor will also provide a packed lunch or advice on local eateries and then an evening meal (2 or 3 courses) which never disappoints either. It's also nice to share the table with other guests (total occupancy is only 6).

Room Tip: The double with ensuite and views to the front (the sea) and back (fields) is my favourite, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Michael house is set in a lovelly peacefull location with great views. The host is a great lady and very helpfull and welcoming. I can only report on the room we stayed in, the bed was very comfortable but we found the room in need of a revamp (eg) torn wallpaper, marked carpet, no TV and tired bathroom. The Vegan breakfast was tasty but a bit on the mean side.

Room Tip: Best view go fo a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nessienora, Owner at Michael House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Many thanks for your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed the location of Michael House. I agree that there are areas which our guests could benefit from us improving, and we will address these where possible, as we want to ensure the most comfortable stay for our guests. For example, the small areas of torn wallpaper we must deal with, and I would love to replace the bathroom in one room, but cannot currently do so, likewise the carpet. We find many guests comment positively on the fact that there is a bath and separate shower cubicle in this room and the spaciousness of the bathroom.

We have had many discussions with guests about TVs not being available in two of our three rooms, and the majority have preferred there not being TV's in the rooms, but it is something we will keep reviewing.

I am sorry you found the vegan breakfast to be 'mean', and was very surprised to read this. There is sausage, freshly prepared potato rosti, scrambled tofu (occasionally not available if I cannot get any), beans, tomato and mushrooms on offer, as well as eggs for non vegans, and toast for all. Whilst I prepare this, there is homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, yogurt and fruit salad available. Many people have told me they did not need any lunch after their breakfast. I always ask what people would like before preparing the meal, if anyone wants a few items from the list, that is what I will prepare.

Thanks once again for your review and I hope this response is helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Had a wonderful stay, not long enough! Our bedroom was delightful as was the view, which we could also enjoy while in the bath. As vegans we thoroughly enjoyed the food, both breakfast and dinners. Our hosts were warm and friendly and we loved meeting the 3 dogs and 2 cats. We feel very lucky to have found Michael House and can't wait to go back sometime and stay longer and explore the area which truly is beautiful.

Julia from Perth Western Australia and Melissa from London

Room Tip: Front of house but area very peaceful anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed two nights at Michael House and had a very relaxing time. It's in a quiet hamlet within walking distance of Tintagel and Trebarwith and an easy drive from Cornish gems such as Boscastle and Port Isaac. You can also head off on great coastal walks from the front door.

Our large double room was clean and comfortable with a superb view across the fields and valley to Trebarwith Strand. The en suite bathroom was a good size with lovely, cruelty-free toiletries.

Our vegan meal on the first evening was delicious, as was the excellent, vegan cooked breakfast. The dinning room was attractive and comfortable with the same wonderful view to the sea.

Vanessa and Simon were very welcoming and helpful, while allowing us space to come and go and feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Lovely guesthouse, very friendly and welcoming. Very clean rooms (and excellent mattresses), good quality cooking, and nice location, only 30 min walk from the excellent beach and also on the costal path. The kids loved it that they could pet the cats and dogs ;-) Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Great for anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We had a fabulous stay at Michael House and would recommend it to anyone, not just vegetarians. Treknow is a great place to stay as it's off the main tourist trail, so it is wonderfully relaxing, but close enough to Tintagel and Boscastle if you want to explore the busy bits. The B+B is very homely, comfortable and welcoming, especially with the use of the cosy living room. The bedroom was really comfortable. Vanessa's cooking is marvellous and we were very happy to be so well fed for the 3 nights we were there!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. The very first time I have ever been able to have a full breakfast (being vegan). Was made very welcome and I will definitely be back for a longer stay. Next time I will have dinner as the menu looks wonderful. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michael House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael House

Address: Trelake Lane | Treknow, Tintagel PL34 0EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Michael House Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.