We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONSISTANTLY GOOD.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victory Inn

Victory Inn
Victory Steps, St Mawes TR2 5DQ, England
+44 1326 270324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in St Mawes
Cuisines: Dessert, Brew Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The only traditional pub in St Mawes, we offer good value pub grub but also have some fantastic fresh fish specials every day. Each week we offer specials deals on our food. Friday nights is fish and chip night 2 for 12 pounds. We are dog friendly. Family friendly. Great range of ales and ciders.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CONSISTANTLY GOOD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A "proper Cornish pub" with plenty of locals at the bar, plenty of atmosphere, and a good choice of beers. Friendly informal service, and always a selection of lovely fresh fish and seafood dishes on the menu .... I've never had a bad meal. Very popular ... table bookings essential.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    59
    18
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Clearly popular with locals and tourists alike, this friendly, simple pub wins over its larger competition (The Rising Sun) hands down. extensive specials and daily deals offer great value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not quite the standard expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having heard good reviews before we visited we were expecting a top end pub experience. It was disappointing as the food seemed to have been prepared well in advance and kept warm and a glass of red wine was served almost too hot to hold! Service was ok but not particularly slick. Maybe we just hit it on the wrong night as other people at our B&B had recommended it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoarwithy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scrummy scallops, yummy beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We came here because the St Mawes hotel hadn't any ale on that we fancied and it was worth coming. Doom Bar I think we had here, and a very delicious take on scallops indeed. We usually go on a Friday as they do a special on their excellent fish and chips. Staff very helpful and friends.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Reliable food, good Sunday roasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Theme lunches are excellent value with Friday fish and chips or the Sunday lunch. Dog friendly in the bar, but separate dining room upstairs if you prefer dog free!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Inn also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.