We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Mawes Local. Good Fish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victory Inn

Victory Inn
Victory Steps, St Mawes TR2 5DQ, England
+44 1326 270324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in St Mawes
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Brew Pub, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The only traditional pub in St Mawes, we offer good value pub grub but also have some fantastic fresh fish specials every day. Each week we offer specials deals on our food. Friday nights is fish and chip night 2 for 12 pounds. We are dog friendly. Family friendly. Great range of ales and ciders.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“St Mawes Local. Good Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is St Mawes local, they also claim that all the fish they cook in caught locally. This claim is up held by a group of fishermen massed around the bar, and also the quality of the fish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    65
    22
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good, honest pub with good, honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went to the Victory Inn for an evening meal. Nice atmosphere and friendly service. There was a good menu, food was nicely cooked and good beers and wines, and all good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, comfortable and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We rented a cottage in St Mawes, and made the Victory Inn one of our stops for a decent bite to eat. The fish was fresh, and very well cooked. I would certainly return to eat there the next time back in St Mawes. Very comfortable atmosphere, and good service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshsire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A friendly village pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We called here for supper. A really great welcome and atmosphere. Some friendly locals, really good beers and house wines, a good varied menu and the local fish as a main course was perfection. Well worth a visit as affordable and honest good value food and drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Saved by the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Room O.K. plenty of hot water, but room not cleaned or bed made on 2nd day. We had to ask to replenish supplies of tea ,coffee and milk.
The majority of the staff were polite and very helpful, but the place lacked consistency,It had the feel of absentee landlord syndrome. However, the food was very good we had 2 wonderful breakfasts and evening meals. ( Don't ask for coffee in the evening, they allegedly clean the machine at 9pm! but this is code for the fact that the machine doesn't work properly)
Over priced at £80 per room per night

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Inn also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.