We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food but nice patio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Sun

Rising Sun
The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DJ, England
0871 951 1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $0 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average Food but nice patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went there mid afternoon on a weekend and you had to go in for the food and drink.. service was okay but not great.... food was a bit above average, but I am not sure I would go back

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RisingSun11, Manager at Rising Sun, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Rising Sun, your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    78
    40
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good, but not as good as the Victory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you want a more traditional, cosy pub, then the Victory is the one for you. However, if you want a beer garden with a view of the sea, then the Rising Sun is the one for you. We were particularly lucky with the weather when we were in St. Mawes, so we got good use out of the Rising Sun's beer garden. The choice of drinks is good, and the food menu is quite extensive. Sandwiches are quite pricey at around £8, but some evening meals are good value for money. Not too exciting, but I had the ham, egg and chips, which was around £10 and it was very tasty. I guess you can't go wrong with ham, egg and chips, but the chips were very good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RisingSun11, Manager at Rising Sun, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for you review, i am glad you enjoyed the food and the view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoarwithy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, good beer and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Yet another of our Cornish holiday venues for a meal out. The garden's my favourite spot to sit as you can see across the harbour, particularly pretty at night. This year I had a delightful smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich and salad.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RisingSun11, Manager at Rising Sun, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good location, food just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wish we'd have checked Trip Advisor before eating lunch here. It's well placed within St Mawes and is a good layout inside, but the food and drinks are VERY expensive. 4 x drinks (be warned a pint of diet coke is £3.10!!!) + 4 sandwiches & 1 bowl of chips came to over £45. We would return to this village but wouldn't dine here again as it's a rip off for what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RisingSun11, Manager at Rising Sun, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for you comments, just to clarify our prices reflect the products that we source and use, most of which are from local suppliers. Our prices are as competative as with other establishments in the village, and surrounding areas. Our menu clearly displays the price and what that menu item consists of, so all customers are aware of this before they order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From North Wales
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“lovely location, great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a light meal here at lunch time whilst visiting St Mawes, we were not disappointed lovely soup and mussels, just a shame we were not there longer to eat during the night as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.