We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wont get served if you come by boat ... !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Sun

Rising Sun
The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DJ, England
0871 951 1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $0 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You wont get served if you come by boat ... !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

how strange, we were refused service because we arrived on a boat. do you think they know they are in a harbour? it wasn't even busy, barely a third full on a sunny friday evening. cant understand it, i have never been refused service anywhere !!! perhaps they turn away everyone who comes to st mawes on a boat and this is why it was so empty.

what an excellent business policy for a pub within a millimetre of a harbour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    84
    46
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Locals turned away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Being regular Sunday Carvery on and off season customers, we were astonished after arriving with 30 plus business guests and colleagues to be evicted. After serving 15 or more drinks the barperson was instructed not to serve the rest of our party as we had arrived by boat. Needless to say we will not be returning to the Rising Sun.

However, we would like to thank The Victoria Inn in St Mawes for a better service and a better pint.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointing!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

St Mawes is a beautiful little typically Cornish seaside village. We arrived by boat into the harbour as many people do. Wanted to go to the Rising Sun for a few drinks with friends and colleagues but unfortunately they told us that they don't serve people who arrive by boat? What....? That is the craziest thing I have ever heard. The harbour was full of boats!!! I could understand it if we had been a large party of rowdy drunks on a stag party or something like that but no. If it had been a multi million pound yacht that we pulled in on I bet they wouldn't have turned our business away. Anyhow we found a lovely pub around the corner called the Victory... you should give it a go instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go embarasingly bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went last week, got turned away by very rude staff and grumpy manager. It was embarrassing that such bad levels of service can happen in this day and age. Have since told at least a dozen friends not to go there as feel that strongly. A real shame as used to be such a nice pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Turned away because we arrived by boat!!! How absolutely ridiculous! We were about to spend about 500 quid and they did not want our money. Cheers!
Arrived with several work colleagues and we were told we were not welcome. It's a 'seaside' venue for heavens sake!! We run a professional firm of chartered accountants - it's hard to get a more respectable bunch. I would never ever ever step foot inside the place. They can get stuffed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rising Sun also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.