We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
1 The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
01326 270038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bournemouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best staff in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great meal on Wednesday 16th July. I had a squid, chorizo starter which was exceptional and a very acceptable whole lemon sole. My wife's ribeye steak was cooked exactly as she asked. All the food was warm although the wine, ordered by the glass could have been better chilled. We have been to all three of the top rated restaurants in Saint Mawes now and the service here was the most attentive and best trained, i.e they asked if you needed more drinks just at the right time etc. This is simple observation technique but is often lacking these days. The unfussy service and informal atmosphere is refreshingly unpretentious and enhances the dining experience. Great credit goes to the chef and the waiting staff and all this for about a third less on the price than the top- rated restaurant in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    27
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good friendly service, wife has Mussels and a Frites, excellent, my pie and mash also very good. Decent value, dog could come in downstairs too, all in all a very enjoyable lunch. Draft beer or Cider would be good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food & lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The lunch time we were there was quiet which is a travesty given the full beer garden of a run of the mill close competitor. People need to step over the threshold and take a chance here. The food was superb. The crab rarebit was exceptionally good, the prosecco was divine. Service was friendly, prices were reasonable and the interior, although a little stark, is comfortable and relaxed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very bad eperience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very bad experience here. Manager/Waiter put us in in a table in the corner behind another couple despite the restaurant being almost empty. Then he got the order wrong. His attitude was very poor, very dismissive when we pointed out our unhappiness. The food was very good I must say, and the other staff were very nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will G, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We take this feedback very seriously and are speaking with the staff member in question regarding your feedback and feedback from others. I'm very glad that the food and the rest of the staff were lovely. Hopefully next time you are in town we can make the whole experience a possitive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food - great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great Ambiance! Tasty Food! Great Service! They even made a mistake of describing the dish that I ordered incorrectly in the menu. I had to return it as it contained food I cannot eat. (I never return a dish!!) Without any hesitation they remade the dish for me.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.