We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London standards in beautiful St.Mawes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
1 The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
01326 270038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dockenfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“London standards in beautiful St.Mawes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a cool spot this is, downstairs is truely dog friendly and we dined with Otis, our intrepid red poodle, by our side. He loved the ambiance and give it his maximum four paw status.
My wife and I both shared a scallop starter and followed upn with fish specials with wine and frankly both were off the richter scale. Absolutely to die for.
Furthermore the service was great and the staff looked like they were having fun.
Fabulous evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's great to hear that you and Otis had such a good time. We hope to see you all again next time you are in St Mawes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    27
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eating out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The watch house was good place to eat the fish and chips were a must have, after walking around coast line for 10 miles.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Manager at The Watch House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your Fish and Chips from the Watch Out takeaway. Hope to see you again on your next walk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Bland Icelandic cod and chips for £7..........amazing ,right on the sea front and using cod from Iceland (presumably frozen) well overpriced and extremely average....don't know about the restaurant though these were take aways

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our take away. before responding to your comments on the Watch Out takeaway I want to assure you that in the restaurant we serve a variety of local seasonal fish sourced from local fishermen!

I'm sorry you were not happy that we serve Cod on the takeaway. We really appreciate your point and when we opened we did try serving a larger range of locally caught fish. However, we had a large amount of complaints from both local customers and tourists who preferred larger and more inexpensive Cod. To try to keep the business as sustainable as possible, we have gone out of our way to work with local fish supplier Matthew Stevens to ensure that all of our Cod is MSC certified and comes from sustainable sources.

You'll be happy to know that we are hoping to be able to offer a larger variety of fish again next year when we put in new fryers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visitied same time last year and very impressed with the quality of the food and the excellent service, and also the fact it is openly dog friendly, an unusual thing for a reasonably smart restaurant. Returned again this year - Manager appeared a bit flustered by the rush on a Monday night and somewhat frustrated by the two young and slightly less efficient waiting staff. Food still great and service efficient despite the rush. Tiny gripe was that what were advertised as "Nocellara" olives clearly weren't but hardly worth a grumble... affogato with clotted cream ice cream more than made up for it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for coming back to see us again! Sounds like you had a great night (despite it being very busy) and we are glad you enjoyed the affogato. We will be sure to check on the olive situation as they definitely should have been Nocellara olives. Should that ever happen again please be sure to let us know and we will be sure to replace them for you! We hope to see you again next time you are in St Mawes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Watch House Redux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A second most successful visit to the Watch House in lovely St Mawes. The roast chicken, cut up in chunks and served with roast potatoes and vegetables was marvelous on a Sunday lunchtime. Beer battered gorgon wraps and fish cakes were equally as good. Don't be deceived by its seaside cafe looks, this is quality food with good helpful service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.