We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
1 The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
01326 270038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“over rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

the food was London style without the panache and over priced for the location
great for well heeled locals but not for the visitor

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Manager at The Watch House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. I'm sorry that you felt our food was priced higher than you would have expected. We try to keep our prices as fair as possible and find that we are usually comparable to other pubs and restaurants both in the area and around Cornwall. With prices ranging from £7 - £15 for lunch and £10 - £20 for dinner (for main courses) we think that we are quite reasonable.

However, you should be happy to know we are doing a menu review at the end of the season and will be looking at our prices to make sure we continue to be a viable option for both locals and visitors to St Mawes. We will take your comments into consideration and will ensure we review our prices in relation to the food we are providing and what is available in the local area.

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    27
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a crabsalad and a cheese and ham sandwich for lunch. Nothing special but really well made and tasty. Nice staff. The caces and cookies looked delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Manager at The Watch House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for visting us on your trip to St Mawes and for the lovely review! Hope to see you again next time you are in town.

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Oh boy that was good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were a party of 14, obviously a lot more than their normal, but they coped with us brilliantly and without delays.
The food is absolutely superb, to the extent that we asked for the chef to come out for well deserved thanks and applause. 14 people times 3 courses, and every course absolutely delicious and beatifully presented. Congratulations Watch Tower. You desrve to succeed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. Your group was an absolute pleasure to have and it was a nice treat for Will to have the round of applause at the end of your meal. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything so much and look forward to seeing you all again next time you are down!

- The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Our visit started off well; we were welcomed into the restaurant and shown to a table. Three of our party ordered megrim sole, which was one of the specials; unfortunately this was sold out, so we were offered silver mullet as a replacement. The table next door had had megrim, and it was a large fish served with a big bowl of potatoes. When our meal arrived, it was a tiny piece do fish on top of about 5 tiny pieces of new potato. We called the manager over to explain the problem, which was when things began to go wrong. He did bring extra vegetables and potatoes, but was very defensive, and did not listen to our complaint. His attitude was very rude, and we felt quite uncomfortable. The other meal was excellent, and the mullet was beautifully cooked, it was just that the fish portions were very small. The manager made a big fuss and insisted we speak to the chef, although we said that was not necessary. The chef dealt with the problem much more sensibly, and did not charge for the fish. We were leaving feeling appeased, but the manager had to have the final word, suggesting we were not good enough for his restaurant, although he knew nothing about us. It was such a shame, as the food was good, and a minor problem became a big confrontation totally unnecessarily. Do not be put off visiting The Watch House because of this review, you could probably have a great meal, especially if you get served by someone with more customer service skills.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for dinning with us while you were in St Mawes.

I'm very sorry that your meal did not go as well as we would have liked. While it is not uncommon for us to run out of our daily fresh fish specials later in the evening, it sounds like this situation could have been handled much better. I'm not sure what happened with our manager that evening, as he is usually very good with customers, but we have spoken with him and are extremely sorry if he made you feel in any way unwelcome!

We really appreciate that you still recommend people try us when they are in St Mawes and I only hope we can make it up to you next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“very patchy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just spent a week in St Mawes and went to The Watch House several times. Food, wines and service were generally good - very nicely cooked. This restaurant is pleasant with a nice atmosphere. The fish and chips in the restaurant was excellent (though smaller portions for the price than equivalent restaurants here in the Midlands).
On our last visit the service was indifferent. My steak was the worst I've ever had - nicely cooked, but they really should change their supplier. A favourite pudding was roast figs with clotted cream - BUT, on our last visit, they said it would come with a mix of icecream and clotted cream. When it arrived, it was just icecream. Very disappointing, especially when the waitress rudely demanded "do you want it or not?" To think that the Co-op (less than 50 yards away) was still open and sells clotted cream - surely somebody could have popped out and got some?
An order of fish and chips from the take-away round the back (even smaller portions) was over-cooked and when the guy serving dropped a piece of fish, breaking it, he was still intending to serve it. We had to ask for it to be replaced (with a wait of about 10 minutes).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed most of the meals you had with us and thank you very much for dining with us several times while you were in St Mawes!

I'm very sorry about your last evening with us as it sounds like it wasn't up to scratch with the rest of your meals. We did pass on your feedback to our bucher regarding the steaks, but I have to admit it was a bit of a surprise to us as we buy very good pieces of meat and have never had issues with their steaks in the past. They are an incredibly reputable company we do prefer to use them as they are the well known to be the best buchers in Cornwall and even supply to places like Jamie Olivers Fifteen. That being said, we want to make sure we keep the quality up, so we will keep a sharp eye on what they send through over the next few weeks.

In regards to your pudding, I am very sorry about running out of clotted cream and the way this was handled. We have spoken to our waitress about this and how she can handle the situation better in the future. We have also spoken with our takeaway team regarding your fish.

All in all, I'm very sorry that after a few great meals with us, things ended on a bad note. I hope that the next time you are back in St Mawes we can improve our consistency and ensure all of your meals and experiences with our team are excellent!

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watch House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.