We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, pretty hotel, some slightly anxious staff & hard beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tresanton

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Mawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tresanton
Save
You added Hotel Tresanton to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, pretty hotel, some slightly anxious staff & hard beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice, but our reception on arrival was a bit OTT (felt like a military operation!). Lovely location, really sweet staff (some were slightly anxious), very lovely food, but we went to The Lugger in Portloe the following night to be met by fabulous, relaxed, service with lovely touches like bedtime hot chocolate sachets, chilled water & fresh milk in dinky & quiet fridges, printed weather reports (for the next day), jar of delicious sweets & charming printed bedtime fables. Comfier beds & more personal & relaxed atmosphere made it a truly memorable stay. Overall, Hotel Tresanton is a nice place..but it has serious competition in a very similar price bracket.....we know where we'd prefer to return...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    72
    25
    18
    8
See reviews for
73
239
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a cream tea here this afternoon after always envying people we saw on the hotel terrace for years. How we wished we had stayed envious as the reality was really disappointing. The scones were so tiny we thought they were a bite size morsel to see if we wanted plain or fruit but unfortunately they were all we were getting! At EIGHT POUNDS each we felt ripped off. We are local people and know all the best places for cream teas so it is our fault for being taken in by the hype of the place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Rock Cottage for 3 nights recently. Absolutely loved the rooms we had - very tastefully decorated, amazing views with balconies everywhere and a fantastic terrace with sun loungers, which we would like to have made more use of but weather and so many other things to do distracted us from doing so. From the minute we arrived the service was amazing - offering to park the car, taking us straight to our room before check-in, leaving us alone but always there if we needed anything - perfect. Dined at the restaurant twice - food was great but didn't enjoy the first night as uncomfortably close to other tables. Second time great as made sure to ask for a table that didn't have other diners right next to us - much better :-) One afternoon we went out on the hotel's racing yacht which we would highly recommend for an adventure - thanks to the crew and the team at Tresanton for a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What an amazing hotel-cant fault it!!! We spent three nights here on b&b basis.On our arrival our keys were taken by the porter, he parked our car and arrived a little later at our room with all our luggage. Our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable-gorgeous sea view. Linen changed daily and room spotless. the staff were so friendly and welcoming-always smiling. Amazing choices at breakfast. We had dinner in the restaurant on our last night then wished we had eaten there every night as it was delicious. This hotel has a soul-the best we have stayed in for a long time. Found it hard to leave-will be back next year.

Room Tip: all rooms look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went here for three nights to celebrate a special birthday and wedding anniversary (which the hotel kindly acknowledged with complimentary glasses of champagne). It was a total pleasure from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed. The service was excellent - quiet, friendly, efficiency from everyone we encountered. Our 'small' room was bigger than many other rooms we have stayed in. We particularly liked the walk-in closet and the fact that the water was hot as soon as you turned on the tap. Tea/coffee trays are not provided automatically but ours arrived within minutes of our requesting it. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel on all three days and returned for lunch, and for tea, on two separate days. All the meals were delicious and we much appreciated the informality of dining with most men choosing not to wear jackets or ties. An altogether wonderful experience which we hope to repeat again before too long.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the sea. And don't be put off if they only have a 'small' r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at various Rocco Forte hotels across Europe, I was already familiar with the design / service philosophy of Olga Polizzi but really wanted to see what it was like in her own personal hotel.
The art of simple luxury is one that I find wholly appropriate for somewhere like Tresanton. Rooms are incredibly well designed with sockets where you'd expect them, la good strong shower and the most beautiful linens. Furniture throughout the hotel is an eclectic mix which oozes sophistication - it's how I'd decorate my home.
Service is five star but relaxed , again, befitting a location such as this. Staff don't fawn over guests and instead engage when appropriate. Staff training is clearly exemplary.
Public spaces are scattered throughout the hotel and food can be taken wherever you like, from the stunning restaurant, the cosy lounge, the bar or on the terrace. Outdoor dining proved problematic during my stay due to an infestation of wasps (and rain!) Staff really did try to deal with this proactively from arranging lavender on the tables, to placing wasp catchers around the terrace . So whilst a real annoyance, the hotel did everything they could to control the situation.
Views over the harbour and the constantly changing landscape are stunning. Throwing open the curtains and waking up to the view day after day is an antidote to the daily stresses and strains of everyday life.
Food wise, the hotel excels. Having sampled most items on the menu, there was never a dish that disappointed. The 'regulars' section on the menu was most welcome as there are occasions, during a five night stay , when you fancy something more simple, such as a beautifully cooked burger or crab sandwich. Prices were reasonable and when in-room dining it was a real plus that the dreaded 'tray charge' was nowhere to be seen.
Finally, whilst I didn't get a chance to chat to the manager, her presence throughout the hotel was remarkable. Her passion for the hotel is admirable and she is incredibly hard working, from helping out at lunch, taking calls at reception, enquiring whether a customer would like soldiers with their eggs, to parking cars! What a rarity and someone that Olga Polizzi should clone and place in all of the RF hotels!
A stunning place and somewhere I'll always return to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

From the time the car was unloaded and driven away and parked, until it was driven back we had an absolutely fantastic few days at this Cornish hideaway. The Hotel exterior was very unassuming and you could easily miss this Cornish gem but once inside, the service and quality of the food is unsurpassed. We stayed in The Nook which is the lower part of a former house overlooking the sea. The room and bathroom (and dressing room) were huge, well appointed and very comfortable.

The weather was fantastic and we had all of our meals on the terrace overlooking the bay but even on less warm days, the restaurant would be perfect. The food was never over fussy and the choice of breakfast went beyond the normal continental/full english.

This was our first time at the Tresanton and even though we had heard so much about it before, it more than lived up to our expectations and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Address: Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tresanton 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tresanton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.