We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Castle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mawes Castle

St. Mawes Castle
St Mawes, England
01326-270526
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This round stone artillery fortress was built for Henry the Eighth in 1542, using a cloverleaf plan with a four-storied round tower.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a very enjoyable tour if the castle last week. Great commentary available on mini recorder. Well worth the visit and less than £5

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    79
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day Out At St Mawes Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I've been wanting to visit St Mawes Castle for a long time and i have to say i wasn't disappointed. It's a bit awkward to get too, especially from Hayle but we did find the car ferry on the way back which made it a lot easier. The castle is small in comparison to a lot of castles but that's reflected in the price and the views from the castle over to Pendennis Castle are tremendous. The castle is well maintained and the grounds are very picturesque, The village is so pretty it's well worth a visit too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth - Vale of Glamorgan - Wales
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“a charming place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If staying at 'The Idle Rocks', or simply stopping by for a crab sandwich, a stroll through St Mawes will take you to the castle. It is a pleasant stroll and well worth visiting for his architecture and its charming situation next to the sea.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A return to my past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

50 years' later I returned to St. Mawes, where my family used to rent a self accommodating apartment above the "old fire station". For me these were the most exciting memories! The old castle, built by Henry VIII, now in the hands of English Heritage was a feast for my eyes! Well preserved and a delight to visit!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lovely location, good audio tour, very interesting visit with great views across the Carrick Roads and to St Anthony's Lighthouse

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mawes Castle also viewed

 

Been to St. Mawes Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mawes Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.