We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top luxury guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nearwater Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nearwater Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast
Polvarth Road | Nearwater, St Mawes TR2 5AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“top luxury guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

superb place. Run by friendly and extremely knowledgeable couple. Ideal if you turn up without a plan for your days out!
cant find any faults with the Nearwater, its smoothly run, a great place to stay and located in a beautiful seaside village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This B and B is a real testament to how far the sector has come in the past few years, with small establishments offering a true bespoke and boutique experience that is a true alternative to larger hotels. The Nearwater is a beautiful house and garden with a very high quality specification and finishes, which is complemented by Amelia's warm and professional personality and service.

Our room was Percuill, which is a good size and offers glimpses to the sea. The room is fresh and the bed very comfortable.

I do however agree with previous reviews that if you want a quiet intimate experience then you should avoid periods when they are running events. Whilst we were staying they were running a 3 peaks event which did make the house somewhat hectic particularly at breakfast and I don't think would suit most people. In this instance we didn't manage to sample the normal breakfast fare and we did have confusion at checkout as no one was around. However as you will note we haven't marked nearwater down on this point for 2 reasons: firstly they did ask if we minded others joining us and having a more simple breakfast and we agreed - so obviously we could have said no and they would have kept it separate, and secondly it is very commendable that this couple takes such an active role in their local community - so just be sure and check before you go if something is on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights at the start of the Summer at the smaller "Cabin" room

If you do book this room DO NOT worry that it is going to be too small. I've stayed in smaller standard sized rooms in many hotels! Beautifully furnished and absolutely spotless. Almost like being on a luxury yacht.

Ingenious use of space with bespoke, solidly built furniture and hidden storage. Very tasteful nautical feel with highly chromed port-hole mirror and flush metal cabinet handles. Excellent quality fabrics and drapes and a VERY comfortable bed with soft furnishings and bolsters.

En-suite was a bit of a squeeze but only because there is a very large shower, which was quite luxurious. The room and en-suite were kept rigorously clean throughout our stay. Absolutely gleaming.

Our hosts were sprightly and knowledgeable, seeming to be both efficient and relaxed at the same time. A feat of character! Breakfast was very good with a different daily special available if you didn't fancy the regular choices. Cereals, fruit (banana for me ;) yoghurt, cooked breakfast all available and all of fine quality.

In essence, you should go! St. Mawes is one of the most beautifully kept and genuine little fishing villages in the area with loads of routes to explore the headland. Nearwater B&B is 2 minutes walk from the harbour (hence the name!) and, if like us, you fall in love with St.Mawes, there's no real reason to venture further afield!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night of our 'minimoon' last week and we were impressed with the high quality accommodation, definitely 5 star standard. Amelia and Tim were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was exceptional. We hope to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here during the St Mawes Classic Car Festival and it really could not have been better. Although the owners were busy organising the Festival, they still had time to attend to their guests and make us comfortable.
The rooms are light and airy, with comfortable beds and all of the luxury amenities.
Breakfast was (if you availed yourself of all that was on offer) sufficient to see you through to the following morning. Every day there was a different special, and all of it looks especially delicious.
The house is new and freshly decorated and has (for St Mawes) the important off street parking. It is only a short 5 minutes’ walk to the harbour and the centre of the town.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Three of the rooms are on the first floor. I think that only one is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed with my parents at Nearwater over Easter in summers and percuil. We had a very warm welcome and were offered a hot drink and hot cross bun which we had in front of a lovely open fire. This was very welcome as it was bitterly cold outside. The rooms were exceptionally clean. You have use of a pantry which is very handy if you want to make yourself a cup of tea or coffee anytime of the day and the fridge was useful to keep our wine cold. The proximity of the b&b to the harbour and town is a 10 min walk, where there are lovely pubs and restaurants to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a visit to St Mawes. It was a very nice B&B. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The shower was amazing and the luxury toiletries were really appeciated.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nearwater Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nearwater Bed & Breakfast

Address: Polvarth Road | Nearwater, St Mawes TR2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New 2010 luxury Bed & Breakfast in the beautiful fishing and sailing village of St Mawes. The house has been completely renovated in a coastal/New England style. Accommodation includes all modern facilities combined with the personal touch of your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nearwater Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast St Mawes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nearwater Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.