We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship and Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ship and Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Ship and Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
southfields
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Weekend break. Upgraded the room to superior sea view. Room 119. Room was very
newly decorated and up to the minute. Bathroom/shower though small was of equally high standard.
The room had patio doors to a large balcony/shared terrace with room 120. With
a full view of the busy harbour we found the room to be perfect in every way. It
was very easy to be "busy doing nothing"...just watching the many ferries come
and go.
Food was of a good standard and the dining room was looking freshly
decorated. Staff were very hard working, smiling and helpful. Though as
previously mentioned there was little ambiance or interaction.
As there was no real beer on draught we enjoyed the lively atmosphere of the 2
village pubs in the evening.
This is a lovely lovely hotel and village. Thank you for a really nice weekend.
The receptionist Norbert was helpful and efficient throughout the initial booking and during our stay. This is our first booking with Coast & Country and are currently studying their brochure for
other venues.

Room Tip: St Mawes life is around the harbour so it is worth booking a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
St Maws is a beautiful location to chill out and relax and our superior rooms have the best sea views in the village. As you so rightly stated, “Worth booking a sea view”.
We are in the process of sourcing a local beer and cider, but this can take a while. Let’s hope we have them available for your next visit.
Norbert was over the moon to get his services recognized and we were all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    103
    67
    33
    22
See reviews for
29
191
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a lovely week for coastal walking , the hotel was super will certainly go back there again, the staff were very friendly and the service was excellent clean and lovely rooms , the food was superb, couldnt fault anything about this place, would recommend it to anyone. To enter St Mawes direct to this hotel by ferry which took half an hour made it even more special.

Room Tip: All the rooms were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We do have a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location.
All your kind comments will be passed on to the staff and we all look forward to your return.
It’s good for all the staff to have their hard work and services recognized by our guests.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The views were wonderful from the restaurant and lounge but the hotel bedrooms although comfortable were very tired looking. The breakfast was good, hot and promptly served. Dinner was, for us, rather heavy and the menu somewhat limited for our tastes. I would rather pay more for a better dinner.There was an a la carte menu is needed. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
I would need a lot of persuading to go again.

Room Tip: A room upgrade is possible and may well be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments.
They will be discussed with all the staff
Our included half board menu, which is different every day, has a wide range of options to suit all tastes.
3 starters / 5 main course / 3 desert, plus coffee or tea.
Our A La Carte menu has a choice of 6 starters / 8 main course /6 deserts plus coffee or tea.
This is an option for our half board guests at a very generous discount.
All our menus cater for vegetarians and any special dietary need is dealt with on a one to one basis.
I’m sorry that you found our choice of menu, not to your taste. But they are reviewed and changed to suit the seasons.
I hope you reconsider and visit us again soon.
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

An average hotel in a stunning location. The room was comfortable and adaquate. The balcony and view over the bay is beautiful. We never ate in the restaurant in the evening, however breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
I am however a little confused over our breakfast being average? The breakfast menu choice consists of a starter buffet of;
5 fruit juices / 6 cereals / porridge / fresh fruit / prunes / grapefruit segments/ yoghurt, plain or fruit.
Our main choices are;
Full English or vegetarian breakfast / Fresh ham and eggs / kippers / smoked salmon / eggs as you would like them or with anything you would like.
Breakfast rolls / brown or white toast / croissants / preservers / honey / marmalade.
A choice of five different teas or two coffees.
All our menu`s are reviewed on a regular basis and I will pass on your comments
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Clears, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned from 4 day self drive break in this hotel.
It is in a fantastic position on St Mawes harbour.The restaurant and bar area offer spectacular views and we enjoyed just sitting here after breakfast reading the newspapers ,which the hotel provided.
Our room on the second floor was bright , pleasant and clean. There was however some dampness on the ceiling and the wallpaper was coming off in places .
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The chef is to be congratulated as every meal was delicious and well presented with a very good choice.
As there is no car park in the hotel we did have to pay an additional £4 50 daily to park our car
but it was only a short walk away. The Harbour car park which was nearer the hotel was more expensive.
Any mid day snacks or hot drinks had to be carried up one floor from the cafe below and the bar did not open till 4 o clock..
We enjoyed our stay here and the slight niggles would not deter us from staying here again .All in all it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations. They are always discussed with all the staff.
We are in the process of addressing the small number of repairs needed in some of the rooms and this will be on going.
Our main bar is severed by reception from 10am until the bar staff arrives on duty at 4pm. I hope this was pointed out to you during your stay. If not, I apologise for the inconvenience caused.
We all look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hampshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently returned from a memorable four night stay at "The Ship & Castle" hotel in St Mawes. As part of a Shearings "Coast & Country" inclusive coach break to the "Gardens of Cornwall", we felt the hotel was well located.

Our driver Chris was brilliant; his professional, friendly manner and extensive knowledge and love for Cornwall made our holiday special. We felt assured that safety and comfort were important.

The picturesque views from the hotel lounge & dining area were beautiful and the décor was in keeping with the area.
The newly decorated, standard bedroom was small but nicely furnished and comfortable; the small en-suite shower had a problem with water pressure & requires some attention.

The menu was varied & meals well presented. The staff in reception and dining room were attentive & gave excellent service throughout our stay.

Our inclusive sightseeing excursions to the Eden Project and the lost Gardens of Heligan were highlights of our short holiday break. We also enjoyed a ferry ride up the Fal River returning to Falmouth late morning for a few hours to explore the area, its beaches & gardens before returning to the hotel in the late afternoon.

We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and recommend the hotel especially in late Spring or Summer.

Room Tip: Ensure that you request your preferences - twin or double bed, sea-facing, superior or standard bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and they will be passed on to all the staff and Chris your tour driver.
St Mawes is a beautiful place to relax and a good base to explore Cornwall.
We all look forward to seeing you again very soon
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay with my mum. We felt the cost of the stay was really good value for money. I would like to congratulate the staff for their welcoming nature, especially in the restaurant and bar. As a vegetarian, I was very impressed with the variety of food available. Breakfast was delicious, hot and a credit to the chef (loved the veg sausages). This is an idyllic location with lots to see and do in the area. A walk to the castle is a must, with spectacular views.
There are some things the hotel management could do to improve the hotel. It is obvious that the hotel has had some refurbishment in the form of the lovely dining room with its stunning views. However, if I were to be picky, the room did smell a bit musty. There was some mould above the main window probably due to it being an end room. The lights were very dim and not good for reading, the same could be send for the main light. The bathroom was clean and the shower had plenty of hot water. A few things may be considered - possibly allocating some soap or given the option of a small pack to purchase? Towels were a little thin. Unfortunately, I have been watching the hotel inspector and naturally assess the room. I would definitely upgrade to a superior room with a sea view and I do think that the hotel with a little more work could be even better. All in all a good experience and a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments; they will be discussed with all the staff.
We do have the idyllic location and stunning views. As you said, we offer exceptional value for money and strive to give exceptional customer service.
We are in the process of a refurbishment programme and your observations will be taken seriously.
We look forward to you returning in the near future
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Rivers’ Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen’s cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 55 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship and Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.