We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship and Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ship and Castle Hotel to your Saves list
The Ship and Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 WEEKEND OFFER
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
St Clears, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“4 day break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned from 4 day self drive break in this hotel.
It is in a fantastic position on St Mawes harbour.The restaurant and bar area offer spectacular views and we enjoyed just sitting here after breakfast reading the newspapers ,which the hotel provided.
Our room on the second floor was bright , pleasant and clean. There was however some dampness on the ceiling and the wallpaper was coming off in places .
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The chef is to be congratulated as every meal was delicious and well presented with a very good choice.
As there is no car park in the hotel we did have to pay an additional £4 50 daily to park our car
but it was only a short walk away. The Harbour car park which was nearer the hotel was more expensive.
Any mid day snacks or hot drinks had to be carried up one floor from the cafe below and the bar did not open till 4 o clock..
We enjoyed our stay here and the slight niggles would not deter us from staying here again .All in all it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations. They are always discussed with all the staff.
We are in the process of addressing the small number of repairs needed in some of the rooms and this will be on going.
Our main bar is severed by reception from 10am until the bar staff arrives on duty at 4pm. I hope this was pointed out to you during your stay. If not, I apologise for the inconvenience caused.
We all look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    111
    69
    33
    22
See reviews for
30
207
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Hampshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently returned from a memorable four night stay at "The Ship & Castle" hotel in St Mawes. As part of a Shearings "Coast & Country" inclusive coach break to the "Gardens of Cornwall", we felt the hotel was well located.

Our driver Chris was brilliant; his professional, friendly manner and extensive knowledge and love for Cornwall made our holiday special. We felt assured that safety and comfort were important.

The picturesque views from the hotel lounge & dining area were beautiful and the décor was in keeping with the area.
The newly decorated, standard bedroom was small but nicely furnished and comfortable; the small en-suite shower had a problem with water pressure & requires some attention.

The menu was varied & meals well presented. The staff in reception and dining room were attentive & gave excellent service throughout our stay.

Our inclusive sightseeing excursions to the Eden Project and the lost Gardens of Heligan were highlights of our short holiday break. We also enjoyed a ferry ride up the Fal River returning to Falmouth late morning for a few hours to explore the area, its beaches & gardens before returning to the hotel in the late afternoon.

We thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and recommend the hotel especially in late Spring or Summer.

Room Tip: Ensure that you request your preferences - twin or double bed, sea-facing, superior or standard bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and they will be passed on to all the staff and Chris your tour driver.
St Mawes is a beautiful place to relax and a good base to explore Cornwall.
We all look forward to seeing you again very soon
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay with my mum. We felt the cost of the stay was really good value for money. I would like to congratulate the staff for their welcoming nature, especially in the restaurant and bar. As a vegetarian, I was very impressed with the variety of food available. Breakfast was delicious, hot and a credit to the chef (loved the veg sausages). This is an idyllic location with lots to see and do in the area. A walk to the castle is a must, with spectacular views.
There are some things the hotel management could do to improve the hotel. It is obvious that the hotel has had some refurbishment in the form of the lovely dining room with its stunning views. However, if I were to be picky, the room did smell a bit musty. There was some mould above the main window probably due to it being an end room. The lights were very dim and not good for reading, the same could be send for the main light. The bathroom was clean and the shower had plenty of hot water. A few things may be considered - possibly allocating some soap or given the option of a small pack to purchase? Towels were a little thin. Unfortunately, I have been watching the hotel inspector and naturally assess the room. I would definitely upgrade to a superior room with a sea view and I do think that the hotel with a little more work could be even better. All in all a good experience and a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments; they will be discussed with all the staff.
We do have the idyllic location and stunning views. As you said, we offer exceptional value for money and strive to give exceptional customer service.
We are in the process of a refurbishment programme and your observations will be taken seriously.
We look forward to you returning in the near future
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a very late room, which was at the back of the hotel overlooking an ally, but given the lateness of our booking we didn't expect a sea view! Non the less it was comfortable with everything you would expect. Breakfast was good and well presented. The corridors could do with some refreshing and some air circulation would be nice. but overall good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I`m pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you visit us again very soon.
Our breaks are fantastic value for money and you couldn`t find a more relaxing location.
Unfortunately we can`t ventilate some of the corridors as much as we would like, due to fire regulations.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

had a four night break at the hotel end of july very good value for money .location of the hotel superb ,plenty of parking 5 mins away its a pity you don't get a slight reduction for multiple days.food not mitch star butvery good for the money.previous reviews mentioned a lack of hot water,but we had plentyno problem with that.room was clean,and in the restaurant we found the staff pleasant helpful and efficient.the one small downside no real ale in the bar.apart from that we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your honest review and all your comments will be passed on to the staff.
We do sell real ale in the main bar and in our café, unfortunately at this time only in bottles. This is something we intend to rectify and we are consulting with local suppliers.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in The Ship and Castle on a half board basis for 2 nights. The rooms were not the best I have stayed in and the food was not the best I had eaten but for the cost, we could not really complain. The location of the hotel really is fantastic, such spectacular views. Staff were helpful and friendly so this again was great. Some of the food for dinner was a little bit different to our tastes but it was ok. Breakfast was good with a good selection. The service in the dining room did feel a little bit rushed at times. The food was served super quick so it didn't take long to eat. Although a lot of people would like that so we didn't mind. Rooms were not bad, some modernising needs to be done but they were very clean and we had clean towels each day. Really we could not complain, the weather was so beautiful and we did not spend that long in the rooms anyway. St Mawes is so stunning, it really is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we do give great value for money and excellent service.
If you visit us again, which i hope you do, it would be a good idea to book one of our superior room, so you can fully enjoy the fantasic views.

Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel with Shearings. The hotel is in a beautiful location with fantastic views of the harbour and beyond. Dining areas and lounge have been tastefully refurbished.Upgraded to a sea view room which we would recommend. Room spacious with wonderful views but beds uncomfortable and lumpy. Bathroom seemed to have been recently redecorated and tiled but old fittings remained and had trouble with getting the right temperature from the mixer shower over the bath. Unfortunately the window had been painted up and could not be shifted and therefore we had no mechanical or natural ventilation in the bathroom.
Food was very acceptable with a good choice for breakfast. The service was excellent and all the staff we met very pleasant and helpful. Waiter service in the restaurant we found very efficient.
Overall a very good holiday with an excellent driver from Shearings and value for money, although we would have difficulty recommending to others simply because of the standard of the bathroom. A shame and perhaps the hotel needs a further injection of funds to make this a good hotel and to fully exploit its ideal position in St Mawes.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We have an ongoing plan in place for the refurbishment in some areas. Since your stay we have replaced the beds for new and the window has been repaired.
I hope this reassures you that all your comments are taken seriously and where possible are actioned.
Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Waterfront, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Rivers’ Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen’s cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 55 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship and Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.