We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roundhouse Barn

Save Saved
You added Roundhouse Barn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roundhouse Barn
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
£100 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Strongly recommended...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a very relaxing stay here. Set back 5 minutes (by car) from St. Mawes it's a great place to stay if you want to dip in and out of the Cornish coastline and St. Mawes in particular. Barbara and Mark were very accommodating , the room was beautifully kitted out as was the location in general and the breakfasts were outstanding. A very pleasant stay indeed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

All the reviews got it right - excellent in every way. We stayed in the lovely Fal room, which had very pleasing decor, was spotlessly clean, had a really comfortable king size bed, a spacious ensuite, fridge of complimentary soft drinks and milk, and welcome card from Mark and Barbara. After a 5 hour drive we were greeted by Barbara with tea, scones (made by Mark!) jam and clotted cream. Mark and Barbara are the perfect hosts. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, which set us up for the day. We are not usually given to superlatives, but this place deserves all the awards it has won. For us to enjoy a break away, it has to be at least as good as home - and this definitely was! Thank you Mark and Barbara!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Roundhouse Barns was added to our short-list last year and this Easter we stayed in The Carthouse. It did not disappoint. Luxury self-catering accommodation for couples in a rural area with absolutely no traffic or aircraft noise - bliss. Despite the Arctic winds, which were freezing, we were wonderfully warm and cosy. Plenty of walking directly from the cottage with walk ideas, as well as an OS map, and lots of local information available as well as a wide-range of CDs, DVDs and games on the bookshelves. Surprisingly The Carthouse is the only barn offering a king-size/twin bed. A truly relaxing break in quality accommodation with some special welcoming touches added by Barbara and Mark including fresh flowers and a couple of Lindt chocolate bunnies!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We found this gem 18 months ago and came back again and had another delightful weekend in March. We stayed in the B&B again but this time in the Fal. We loved this room as much as the Minack. All the facilities e.g. TV, radio, magazines and DVDs etc are of high quality. The complimentary mini bar is brilliant! The huge luxurious en-suite looks as clean and new as when we were last here 18 months ago. Barbara and Mark continue to be welcoming and charming hosts. Breakfast is the best we have had on all of our Cornwall holidays. It felt like staying with close friends and yet with plenty of privacy. We went to a Michelin starred restaurant nearby and spent our last night there. The food was brilliant but I don't think the B&B there was comparable to the Roundhouse Barn. Thank you so much for the lovely bottle of birthday wine. We will definitely come back to Roundhouse Barn again when we visit St Mawes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, it was lovely to see you both again. We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts, it's all down to the fresh local ingredients and of course all cooked with love and passion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Arrived at 18:30 after a seven and half hour drive to be greeted by two friendly faces offering us a cream tea or a glass of wine - both of which were a very welcome offering !

My wife and I stayed in the bed & breakfast part of the accomodation. Our room was very well presented with water, fruit juice and fresh milk in the mini fridge in the room. The room was very clean as was the ensuite bathroom. Barbara & Mark are great hosts with a good knowledge of the area (you will definitely require the instructions on how to get there as the property is in the middle of nowhere !).

My wife & I stayed for two nights and the breakfast choice each day was excellent, we had 2 chocolate Easter eggs in our room on arrival and a 'welcome' card from Mark & Barbara - great personal touches.

Mark & Barbara were lovely people and very accommodating and also made you feel very welcome.

A lovely break for 2 days and would definitely return and the dogs were lovely and well controlled.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Cockle Cottage and absolutely loved it - it was delightful to come home to the cottage at night - a real home away from home. Mark and Barbara were briliant hosts - we were greeted with lovely scones, jam and cream on arrival and they were so helpful with maps and recommendations for dining out. Staying at Roseland eas a great base for exploring that part of Cornwall - we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We needed a peaceful weekend away and this was absolutely perfect. Mark and Barbara couldn't do enough for us - especially as our car broke down just 8 miles from the b&b and the RAC took 4 hours to arrive. Mark picked me up while my husband waited, gave me a glass of wine and generally helped to relieve my anxiety. When my husband finally arrived at 10pm, they made him supper! And the following morning took us to Newquay to collect our car from the garage.

I cannot emphasise enough how fantastic this place is: immaculate, soothing, eco-friendly, excelant value, with delicious food,ever-helpful hosts that are never 'in-your-face' and an array of well deserved awards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Address: Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally.Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Roundhouse Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roundhouse Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.