We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfresco Cafe Bar

Alfresco Cafe Bar
Wharf Rd, St Ives TR26 1LF, England
+44 1736 793737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 105 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Harbourside, open-fronted restaurant. Open every day for lunch 12-3 and dinner 6-9.30
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The food at Alfresco is top class. Highly recommend the fillet of beef and the chocolate/peanut butter fondant. Very attentive service. Not cheap but worth it given food quality. Go!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    112
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

From when the very friendly waitress announced the 16 course menu as opposed to the £16 menu we had a great time at Alfresco's. The food was excellent. I started with the really interesting pork belly and followed that with a mushroom wellington as that vegetarian option was so tempting. The friendly atmosphere in the restaurant was helped by a great bottle of Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc. I would definitely recommend everyone when in St Ives to visit for dinner. Book early as they were turning people away when we visited in the middle of March.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lunchtime Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The crab sandwich is a delight , thick filling of delicious crab meat on freshly baked bread - have a portion of the duck fat chips to accompany it and you won't be disappointed !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went for lunch one day, I had the platter which was great - loved the crab bon bons. The chips are amazing - really crispy on the outside, and fluffy on the inside. Great drinks too. We came back for dinner the next day which was even better. Starters in particular - loved the scallops, pork belly, and the beetroot and goat's cheese tart - very innovative. Other dishes were good still, mains a little salty. After my mains, I asked for another starter, but they didn't make it which was disappointing. All in all, a great spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

On a cold, wet windy night, this was our choice, and it didn't disappoint! Friendly service and very fine quality dinning. My wife's fresh scallops were perfect, and the crispy belly pork lived up to its name. The mains were full of flavour and reasonably priced. A lovely evening with quality food! Thank you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Been to Alfresco Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfresco Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.