We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views over the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porthminster Beach Cafe

Porthminster Beach Cafe
Porthminster Beach, St Ives TR26 2EB, England
01736 795352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 122 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Kent
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Lovely views over the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We all really enjoyed our meal overlooking Porthminster Beach and appreciated being able to eat delicious food with a beautiful sea view. Particularly enjoyed the salmon curry and the beautiful desserts - especially the caramelised banana which looked like a seaside scene. Highly recommended. If you arriving by car don't follow the sat nav - ours took us down an extremely narrow lane and there is no parking at the end. Park at the St Ives Railway car park although note that this car park fills up quickly and people were queuing for places. An alternative (which we didn't try) is to use the park and ride car park which has a train which brings you directly to the beach and the restaurant which looked very pretty and a relaxed way to arrive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    277
    98
    58
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We loved this place. Right on the beach with fabulous views. The menu is good and allows you to create you own breakfast. Very good food. You can just walk in and get a table for breakfast, but book ahead for lunch or dinner in the summer.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The food was amazing, the venue outstanding, the staff wonderful and the beach was stunning.
We visited with our children and we were all delighted with the service and the ambiance of the place

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Resting on wilted laurels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This used to be incontrovertibly the best restaurant in town: the best food, the best location, the best service, the best vibe. It was the place you booked as a treat or when you wanted to impress guests or visitors. But in the past three of four years several other places have come to the fore and the Porthminster has let everything gently slip: service is pleasant but a but tired and stressed and bordering on sloppy. Food is no longer very interesting: one used to be spoiled for choice but now, after two reads of the menu you find yourself scrabbling. Chucking quinoa, sumac and dukah at everything that moves is no longer innovative and the end result is food that leaves one wanting to hail a time machine and go back four summers to when the menu was exciting and the food excellent. Don't get me wrong, it's not at all bad - just tired and bored.

There used to be a wonderful lady manager who was utterly charming but she now seems absent and her iron hand/velvet glove skills are sorely missed. We're cancelling our second reservation because Porthgwidden, Porthmeor and Black Rock are a more enticing prospect. Such a pity.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been visiting the Porthminster Beach Cafe for a number of years, to celebrate a birthday in August. Unfortunately I think this visit be our last. The food is beautifully presented, but a big confusing as it often seems to bear no relation to the description and is ultimately a bit of pot luck. At least two of our party had some little fried bits in a tiny glass that were unidentifiable (and tasteless). My son however, was pleased to see that they have reverted to selling 'normal' chips rather than a pretentious bucket of "chip-shaped roast potatoes" of last year. But having said that, there are cheaper fish and chips to be had (and just as delicious) in the town. The desert menu was identical to previous visits, and there are only so many times you can get excited about deconstructed Pimms or Caramel Bananas. In summary, the location is great (if it's sunny - which it never seems to be when we visit), the staff are friendly and helpful (but forgot one of our starters), but neither of these warrant the high prices. Maybe it's time to give the menu a bit of a rethink?

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthminster Beach Cafe also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Porthminster Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porthminster Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.