We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLDE WORLDE BRILLIANCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Save
You added The Sloop Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   | West Country, St Ives TR26 1LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OLDE WORLDE BRILLIANCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Though we didn't stay at the sloop we have been here many times and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Brilliant staff, great menu and reasonably priced. The views are amazing and I have to say that we are keen promoters of the Inn. I wont have a word said against it LOL.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    59
    30
    20
    22
See reviews for
39
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What lovely pub lovely location, fab food and good atmosphere.

We ate here on a Saturday night and we had the two steaks and a bottle of wine for £30.00 and it was gorgeous, lovely quaint pub staff absolutely superb very friendly, lovely beers and lovely menu, if you are visiting in the winter do try the Warm Cider is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a short break in st ives,
The sloop is not perfect but is clean and has wonderful views of the harbour. We stayed in the admirals room and had breakfast served there in the mornings . fantastic start to the day, good food served by very friendly cheerful staff.
It isnt the savoy but it is value for money in a beautiful location and well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First visit to The Sloop. It was excellent, good food and the wonderful Doombar too. Very friendly and welcoming staff and the 'locals' really good company. We stayed in the Courtyard Room which is very spacious and well equipped. Spoiled ourselves with breakfast, I had the Kippers each morning and they were delicious. Right in the heart of St Ives The Sloop is the ideal place to stay and wander around the querky backstreets of fishermans cottages and local art and craft shops. A very warm welcome made this short break a very memorable few days. Thank you!
Bob and Jacquie
East Devon
UK.

Room Tip: Our room didnt have views but was very cosy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Returned once again to The Sloop and were not disappointed. Same friendly staff. Wonderful views from 'The Outlook' bedroom , breakfast served in your bedroom and although the menu has changed for their Captains Table Restaraunt the standard of the food was still superb. The icing on the cake was- they serve Sharps Orchard Cider and Old Cloudy Rosie Cider on tap- heaven. (am not a wine drinker) . Lots of good beers as well. Will definately be back. Pam Prosser

Room Tip: Cottages are excellent, but the view from the bedroom in the pub called 'The Outlook' is fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went in to the back room with a buggy with a sleeping [sick] baby and were asked to fold it up. I explained baby was asleep and he said don't care those were his rules. Very unfriendly manager, pub only had two other people inside so be warned if you go with a buggy!!!! What a miserable man..... Thanks you Kirk P dogs over children it probably was. Maybe we were that family of 3 ?????

Room Tip: Dont book............
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited during st Ives festival week and the bar was busy and buzzing, warm friendly atmosphere and superb location. So nice to sit outside very late into the evening in late September and still enjoy the warmth beside the Cornish sea.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Address: | West Country, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sloop Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel St Ives
The Sloop Inn St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sloop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.