We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Save
You added The Sloop Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   | West Country, St Ives TR26 1LP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 103 St Ives B&B and Inns
Glastonbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful relaxing break, breakfast brought to the room was a real bonus and the view whilst eating it was breathtaking.
The room was very clean and fantastic value for money,especially the third night free of charge.
Staff very friendly and bent over backwards to help us.
Fantastic location 10 out of 10 in every way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    59
    29
    20
    22
See reviews for
39
114
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here, lovely atmosphere, prices very reasonable. 14 year old daughter had cottage pie, 12 year old son had burger, wife had lemon sole and I had fish dish containing 3 different sorts of fish. Gets very busy at lunch time, service very efficient, nice atmosphere, dogs welcome. 13th century Inn, Brittan at it's best.
Can highly recommend for hungry families with teenagers.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff/food/drinks/rooms are all fantastic. Spent the weekend whilst do some final arrangements for my upcoming wedding. So good have booked 2 nights either side of said wedding. The view from the rooms is priceless and as a package unbeatable. Can't wait til April when I get to stay there again. D&S

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great value for money. Lovely room with a view. Breakfast was served in the room and was great to eat it looking over the harbour. Reception staff were also great. And they serve a lovely pint of Guiness in the bar

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been to St Ives for the past 7 or 8 years with a group of friends so celebrate New Year and have always visited the Sloop and hada warm welcome and enjoyed our time there - Not this year.

First thing my friend and I witnessed was on Sunday as we were stood at bar a young lady was stood by my side waiting to be served, so I moved out of the way so that she could get nearer bar, she was served her drink, paid with a £20 note which I had noticed in her hand, hence I moved out of her way. She was only given change of £10 and when she told the barman - mini Wolverine lookalike, he just grunted took a £5 note from till and all but threw it at her and walked off with no apology - how rude.

We then went back for some drinks after lunch on New years eve afternoon and as we were all drinking Rattler Cider were buying 3pint jugs as it worked out cheaper for the group. At about 4.50pm mini Wolverine again appeared and demanded our seats and table immediately as they "were expecting a rush of people". We told him that we would like to finish our round of drinks that we had just bought and were told again that he wanted them straight away and that we could stand up and drink them.

My friend told him that he was not prepared to stand with a 3pint jug of cider in his hand as we were to have the table taken away, to which a dark haired foreign (Spanish?? looking) man told him to "just take them" (which he didn't).

We hurried our drinks and all stood up for them to take the tables and chairs, while we there they then came to the next table where there were a couple with some dogs and 2 children, they had to take their drinks off the table and they proceeded to than take the table from in between the family, followed by their chairs.

We renonstrated and asked why they had simply not told us that at 5pm they would need the tables and chairs to provide more standing room - this would not have been problem at all, but to just arrive and demand them there and then, and then to be told by the "Spanish" gut not to come back I personally think is absolutely disgusting.

We went from there to the Lifeboat, who told us on arriving that we could not be gauranteed a table/chair as they were clearing the bar, had a great time and returned in night to celebrate the New Year in a great Pub.

Room Tip: Use the Lifeboat instead as they are curtious and now how to treat their customers, to be honest I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed in the lookout room overlooking the harbour, the room is not the biggest but is very comfortable and when you consider that the Sloop was built over 700 years ago it is a great space. The bed was very comfy , we had sleep with the curtains open so we could wake up to the stunning view. Then the breakfast arrives served in the room in the lookout area, a small table with bench seat but in a little alcove by the windows. Every bit of food is local produce and the breakfast was superb, we ate in the bar and were planning to eat in a few other places but after 1 meal we just stayed put as the food was top class. The sloop also have a restaurant and they offer a 3course meal for £15, again the food was amazing , I had mussels, so fresh and velvety then we had the seafood platter and we are still talking about it. The staff here are also so good offering advice on food ,drink and places to visit. As the room is over the entrance of the inn, there is a little noise until the bar closes, this was no problem for us as we were in the bar but if you go to bed early this needs to be taken into account.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view the lookout room was memorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We only used it for an overnight stay, was surprised to get a room mid half term. Our room was in an annexe behind the pub ( photo 12 looks like it) not massive but suited. At first i thought the price was a little steep but with breakfast and it's location we went for it. We payed the extra £10 for the reserved carparking and having got down into St Ives and directed to the carpark I wouldn't want to drive again until I left.
Yes the pub and outsde were extremely busy,( it was a gorgeous end of Oct day) but that adds to atmosphere! We dined in the Captains Table and as residents got a fantastic deal from the menu, 2 x 3 courses for £30. No reduction in he portions size and a cheese board to die for.
The only reason we ended up in the annexe is because all the rooms within the pub have breakfast served in the room and we didn't want that. So with the hearty breakfast and restaurant deal overall the price was very good.

Room Tip: If you are happy having breakfast in the room ask for a room within the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Address: | West Country, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sloop Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel St Ives
The Sloop Inn St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sloop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.