We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad we came back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howards Hotel

Howards Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Howards Hotel to your Saves list
Howards Hotel
St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
gloucester
1 review
“glad we came back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Having stayed at the howards before, we were shocked when we saw some of the comments on this site. But since we had a nice stay last time we said we are going to go there again. And i am glad we did, the staff are most welcoming and very helpful, the rooms we clean and tidy, breakfast was lovely. The bar was most plesant to have a drink or two in very clean and certainly didnt smell. We are looking forward to staying there again and would recommend here to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Late in the afternoon I hastily agreed to the cost of £70 for a B&B room for 2 but afterwards constantly thought I had been ripped off because this was the only place with vacancies we could find anywhere around St Ives. I now see from their website this is the normal charge for a night in September.
We didn't use the shower after my wife pointed out the mould growing along the bottom. My breakfast was acceptable but served in a huge function room with no heating.
If you don't mind staying in a smelly pub with weeds around the entrance, broken windows, sleeping in an unheated room on a crudely repaired bed, using wardrobes with the doors hanging off & bedroom furniture with the auction house number sticker still in place then this is the place for you. We won't be going back ! !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeavons, Owner at Howards Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Whilst owned by ourselves, Joe and Terry, the Hotel was run on a daily basis by a team employed for the task. Suffice to say, there has been a parting of ways between the two parties.
Since then, we hve decorated and spring cleaned all rooms, as well as the common area's and the reception. We have also changed the bed dressings, curtains and furniture where necessary. We also now have a gardener who is responsible for the outside area's. The bar and a new restaurant will be open at the end of July this year, after another management change.
To sum up, whilst we do not claim a high status, we believe we have, and indeed still are, improving our service and have most certainly improved our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole dorset
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I only meant to stay two nights but stayed four nights owing to the friendly atmosphere and the warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

This is a hotel for those who want an inexpensive stay in an out-of-town centre. The rooms all have shower, tv, tea/coffee and are clean, though some are bigger than others and some have a great view over the bay towards Hayle.
It's what it says, a clean and basic, convenient sleepover which is a short walk from St Ives (and a steep downhill walk to the Carbis Bay beach). The staff are friendly and there's a bar and darts/pool/snooker and a garden to sit out in when the weather's good. The local folk who come into the bar seemed friendly and had good ideas of places to see.
Five-star it ain't, but then neither is the price...it's realistic for accommodation in this all-too-popular resort!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Due to the time of year, Feb half-term, there were not many establsihments open in the area and those that were seemed to think they could charge £60-80 for a room.

The exterior of the hotel was not much to shout about and "back packers welcome" gave us a warning that it was not going to be 5 star material. The staff were pleasant and very keen to please, showing us two rooms (family room was unavailable) that were adjacent on the top floor at the front of the hotel. Both rooms were en suite, and were presentable. The sheets and towels were clean as was the room and bathroom. There was plenty of hot water in the shower, no bath in either room and the heating worked well.

They were apologetic about the lack of breakfast due to the time of year. This was remedied by a quick trip to the local Tesco for coffee and pastries (2 min drive).

The rooms are dated in their furnishings and the curtain and carpet could do with a deep clean, but then so could quite a few rooms I've stayed in at hotels of greater repute. The TV worked OK and there was even a hair dryer in a drawer (although I would not have used it).

There was a tea and coffee tray in the room, with two portions of coffee and a few tea bags, which is not as generous as perhaps it could be.

It is basic and no doubt appeals to back packers who apparently have lower expectations from a hotel. What we got was a good nights sleep between clean sheets, in a warm room with hot water in the shower at £20 per adult per night and £10 per child per night. There was a darts match in progress in the bar when we returned from eating out in St Ives. There was no disturbance caused by noise.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

What an absolute disappointment, in fact, what a horrid place. Shabby, un-clean and smelly. Our room was damp and so small you couldn't move. The heating did not work and the room was freezing (didn't fancy getting the extra blanket out as it stank so slept in coat). No evening meal on a Saturday and dogs (two) fighting in the bar, why didn't anyone stop them???!!! Barking all night and came down to breakfast in the morning to find the dogs had messed in the hallway, it stank so we didn't eat breakfast and got out of there and found a much better hotel for the rest of our week. No one seemed to know how much we were being charged for our stay, so we had to work it out ourself and tell them, pricey for the standard of service. Bathroom was awful with mould on shower curtain, and up wall, no bath, and nowhere to put your washbag so mine had to go on the floor (better than on top of the loo, well...perhaps not?!)...Carpet in bathroom stank and the hot tap ran cold water and the cold tap ran hot. What an awful experience and I found the landlady quite rude one moment and nice the next, needs to make a decision on her attitude, all I asked was for some heating on...Goodbye and good riddance...

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

My husband and two small children stayed in this hotel for a mini-break to Cornwall, mainly because many places will not rent their properties for less than a week. We were pleased when we pulled up as it looked very nice from the outside and was close to St. Ives city centre. The family room worked well for the four of us, the staff was very friendly and we were looking forward to a pleasant stay...until we went to go to bed and their resident dog decided to bark most of the evening keeping my husband and I awake.

The second night was even worse when they decided to hold an event in the pub with some chap yelling into a microphone that made our windows rattle! I went down to complain after 2 hours of loud noise and was told that they were almost done...just trying to entertain the guests. Given that there were other families with small children staying there, it didn't make sense to me.

Needless to say, our days of staying in "pub inns" are over if we want to get a peaceful night's rest!

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The noise at night
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howards Hotel

Address: St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Howards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howards Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.