We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WHAT IT SAID ON THE TIN!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howards Hotel

Howards Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howards Hotel
Save
You added Howards Hotel to your Saves list
St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT IT SAID ON THE TIN!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this as a last minute break for a birthday getaway .... looked good on internet and room available was 'superior', so looked a good idea. Not cheap, totalled £90 for the room with breakfast. On arrival, outside was scruffy, worn, unkept. Directly on main road, which was busy and noisey. Friendly staff member met us in a hallway which hasnt seen an update for many many years ... Our 'superior' room was also very dated, even though the site said rooms had been refurbished, the positive was a far view of the sea ... the negatives were that it smelt of damp, (smelt like air freshner had been sprayed prior to arrival to mask it) .... light shade broken on ceiling, lamp shade was tattered. mugs were stuck to shelf! ... windows did not hold out the noise of the main road, and whether open or shut, the noise level was the same (loud). Could hear all noise from the bar below. Bathroom was a shower room (you wouldnt be able to swing the family cat in) which was not a white suite and was carpeted .... definately not refurbished! .... we also read, once we had arrived, that the hotel was also home to people living on benefits??(didnt get that confirmed) ... To walk to St Ives would have been a mammoth task and on a busy road ... probably at least a 30 minute walk, on a sunny day might be fun?? .... Not convenient for enjoying the gorgeous St Ives and its restaurants etc... unless you get a taxi ....We booked out immediately as the thought of staying in a smelly, noisey room for £90 was not 'superior'. Staff member was fine with our decision and monies were repaid immediately. So thank you for that. We ventured down into St Ives and had a lovely stay in a local hotel, close to all that St Ives has to offer during the day and night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a really great hotel if you're travelling on a budget. It is so cheap but the service we recieved from Joe and the staff was absolutely 5star. The rooms are above a pub but they are quiet and clean and have a lovely outlook. The hotel has a great position in Carbis Bay and Is a twenty-minute walk or 5 minute bus ride from St Ives. You can also walk down the hill and you're on the stunning Carbis Bay beach. The atmosphere in the pub in the evenings is great with everyone having a laugh. The hotel is also dog friendly - if you aren't dog friendly it be best to miss out the pub - but Joe's dogs are wonderfully well behaved and add even more charcater to the place.

And for the price you won't get anything better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
428 helpful votes 428 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel looked lovely on the internet (amazing what a good website can do). The receptionist (who doubled as a breakfast waitress) was very friendly and helpful but the overall ambience was very rough and ready. Our room was not kept clean - it was never hoovered in a 4 night stay because the same bits of fluff etc were there every day. We were not warned that our towels would not be changed and I left a wet one in the shower cubicle It was still there in the evening. We then made an effort to spread them out in the room to dry but they were then moved and mixed up every day. There was a big splodge of bird dirt on the window which could have been reached and removed quite easily. The bed was OK but a small double and the shower room was TINY. There was hardly any room to move.

We did not like the look of the bar so did not go in there in the evenings. This doubled as the breakfast area and this was all very greasy spoon. The receptionist mentioned earlier was very helpful and busy but the service was not so good on her days off. The orders were served up completely wrong and sometimes cold. there was no finesse at all and i hope that the foreign visitors that were there did not think of this as a typical English B and B because it was certainly not up to the standard of the many others I have been to.

The location was OK - we used the park and ride (train) to get into St Ives but there were 2 very nice restaurants close by, which we walked to.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It is very easy to see why the Howards divides opinion. The main thing is that it gets the basics right. The place is clean, the breakfast is delicious, the bed is comfortable, the wi-fi works, the service is friendly, the views of the sea are impressive, it has off-road parking, the location is good and it offers excellent value for money. However if you want to find fault then you can easily find a long list of relatively trivial things. On entering the room my eyes were assaulted by the most hideous bedspread ever manufactured however it was easily folded up and hidden out of sight on the wardrobe. The shaver lights didn't work. The remote controls for the tv and set-top box had their battery covers missing. The wiring for the tv could easily have been put into trunking to look less Heath Robinson. The lightshade outside the room was suffering from heat damage. The bedroom furniture was old and scuffed. I also couldn't figure out why part of the ceiling hadn't been painted. (see photo). And so on. But then none of this really matters when the hotel provides all the essentials.

We enjoyed our stay. It was as different as could be imagined from staying in a hotel which is part of a chain but that is part of the Howards' charm. Tip: order the croissants at breakfast which are freshly baked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here last weekend, and after being greeted by tatty St George flags hanging from windows amd 3 dogs scratching themselves silly adjacent to the front of the hotel, we realised maybe this wasn't going to be the hotel for us. The room was shabby to say to least, with roll together worn beds, 1980's dirty decor and fittings, and ill fitting windows. The breakfast was served in a tatty room by an unshaven man who looked like both he and his tracksuit bottoms could do with a wash. The breakfast experience was made extra special by the return of the 3 dogs which sat watching you eat whilst scratching violently only yards away. Give this place a wide berth..... don't say you weren't warned!!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere for a better room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I read the other reviews for Howards Hotel all ready had family who stayed in this hotel. Plus we had a small dog to to take with us and found out this is a dog friendly hotel. On arrival met by a friendly lady who showed us to are top floor room the view out of the window was stunning looking out over the bay. The the room was totally acceptable (shower toilet tv tea coffee ) clean and comfortable even with woodchip paper. Like every body else says its not five star but its not five star price. Staff are friendly recommending us the best/dog friendly beech for the dog (this was only a 5 min drive from the hotel). Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and a great start to the day. Will def go again.
Thank you Howard's hotel staff

Room Tip: head for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I read the other reviews for Howards Hotel and decided that I would give it a go.
I agree with them all.

This is not billing itself as a 5 star luxury hotel - if you want that, wander down the road and stay at The Treganna Castle - and pay the 5 star price tag that goes with it. This venue puts itself forward as it is: a hotel that caters for the budget end of the market but gives 5 star service. I was greeted by a very pleasant lady who showed me to my room, gave me all the information I needed and was kind enough to recommend a restaurant for my evening meal.

My room was on the 4th flight of stairs and had it not been foggy I would have had enviable views over Carbis Bay (which would have added 20% to the room price in other place).

I arrived to breakfast an hour early as I needed to do some work. I was allowed into the public area for wifi access and even provided with a pot of tea - now you don't get that at 5 star hotels without a price tag. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order (again, my preference over a buffet style adopted by many of the higher starred establishments).

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would certainly use Howards Hotel again.
I was not disturbed at all by the public bar and on another visit, I may even make use of it!!

If you expect room service, travel sized toiletries to grace your bathroom window sill and staff wandering around in uniforms, this is not for you.
If you want comfortable accommodation with friendly service and a personally cooked breakfast at an affordable price, this is the place for you

Thank You Howard's Hotel. Hope you have a good season

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howards Hotel

Address: St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in St Ives
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Howards Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.